Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2015, 10:15 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Flagstaff
Posts: 2
Thermostat and furnace issues

Have a new 2015 Jayco Eagle 31RETS trailer. Within a week of delivery, we experienced problems with the Atwood furnace. After struggling to find a 'certified' service tech to come out, we paid a premium to get a good one to our location. He was very familiar with Atwood issues and found the control board was burned up, may be due to finding a pinched duct causing too much back pressure. Well he fixed it and it has worked well for a couple months until now. We have a new issue. When thermostat achieves desired temp, it shuts off heater as it should. Problem is when temp drops off again, it wont fire back up until we manually turn heat switch off, then back on again. We have a Coleman Mach sliding thermostat. I already ordered a new Coleman Mach Digital to replace it. Just wanted to throw this out there to see if anybody might have some tips or input that could help. Thx
__________________

LawrenceAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 10:28 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: WNY
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by LawrenceAZ View Post
... Problem is when temp drops off again, it wont fire back up until we manually turn heat switch off, then back on again. We have a Coleman Mach sliding thermostat. I already ordered a new Coleman Mach Digital to replace it. Just wanted to throw this out there to see if anybody might have some tips or input that could help. Thx
LawrenceAZ

How much does the temp drop off?
A slide thermostat may have up to a 6 deg tolerance, so it won't call for the furnace until the temp drops 6 deg. If the temp is dropping more the 6 deg, the issue could be with your sliding thermostat.

Typically a digital thermostat will have a 1 - 2 deg tolerance.

So the digital thermostat will give you much better temp control.
__________________

__________________
2015 Jayco Eagle Premier 361REQS
2014 GMC Sierra 3500HD 4x4 CC D/A
ROC-REQS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 10:44 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Flagstaff
Posts: 2
Wont kick back on at all. 20 degrees last night. Until I manually cycled on/off switch. Then it kicked on just fine.
LawrenceAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2015, 11:38 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: WNY
Posts: 354
Quote:
Originally Posted by LawrenceAZ View Post
Wont kick back on at all. 20 degrees last night. Until I manually cycled on/off switch. Then it kicked on just fine.
You replacing the sliding thermostat with a digital thermostat sounds like the best place to start.

Hopefully the digital thermostat resolves your issue.

Good luck.
__________________
2015 Jayco Eagle Premier 361REQS
2014 GMC Sierra 3500HD 4x4 CC D/A
ROC-REQS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2015, 06:37 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Southeast TN
Posts: 259
Mine Jayco done the exact same thing last year. Instead of fooling with the warranty, trip to the dealer, and probably getting another slide adjusted thermostat...I ordered a digital version and changed it myself. Problem solved and I like the digital way better.
__________________
2013 Ram 3500 Laramie Cummins
2014 Eagle HT 29.5 BHDS
Sledgehammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2015, 06:49 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
dalebra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Waconia, MN
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sledgehammer View Post
Mine Jayco done the exact same thing last year. Instead of fooling with the warranty, trip to the dealer, and probably getting another slide adjusted thermostat...I ordered a digital version and changed it myself. Problem solved and I like the digital way better.
What model did you get?
dalebra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2015, 08:21 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Southeast TN
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by dalebra View Post
What model did you get?

Just the digital Coleman Mach. Wires were the same color, pretty much "plug and play".
__________________
2013 Ram 3500 Laramie Cummins
2014 Eagle HT 29.5 BHDS
Sledgehammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2015, 08:25 PM   #8
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,056
I just bought one for my rig.
15k unit - 8330-3362
13.5k - 8330-3392

I bought mine off of ebay, If you put that # in a google search you may get several at a better price. Another place I bought one a few years back was RV Supplies, RV Accessories & RV Parts for Motorhomes, Campers, Travel Trailers & 5th Wheel Campers - fifth wheel camper - RV Plus.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 09:26 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
tularockstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Queen Creek
Posts: 347
We'll be replacing both our manual slider thermostats with possibly the Dometic dual zone digital one next year. We have two AC units in our 29.5BHDS and each has its own thermostat. So, we're thinking of wiring in the bedroom AC to the new one, then create a temperature zone for it. Of course we'll have to figure out how to patch up the open hole where the extra thermostat used to be. We'll think of something.
__________________
U.S. Air Force (1979 to 1994)
2016 Jayco 29.5BHDS
2015 Ram 2500 (6.7L Cummins Diesel)
Queen Creek, Arizona
tularockstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2015, 10:21 AM   #10
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,056
Quote:
Originally Posted by tularockstar View Post
We'll be replacing both our manual slider thermostats with possibly the Dometic dual zone digital one next year. We have two AC units in our 29.5BHDS and each has its own thermostat. So, we're thinking of wiring in the bedroom AC to the new one, then create a temperature zone for it. Of course we'll have to figure out how to patch up the open hole where the extra thermostat used to be. We'll think of something.
Disclaimer: The p/n's I listed are for Coleman Mach units.
__________________

__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.