Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 01-16-2021, 06:20 AM   #1

Tow Vehicle Dash Cam

So I don't know if this is in the right place but couldn't fond a tow vehicle section. I have a 2016 RAM 3500 CC CTD dually I use to pull my 17 355MBQS. I have been wanting to install a dash cam for a while now are they worth it? Can anyone recommend one, I will hard wire it to my truck and I want it mounted as high on the windshield as possible out of sight.

We try to take a couple of long trip a year planning to go to Albuquerque , NM in June. I feel this is just extra insurance in the event something catastrophic would happen. Does anyone else use them?

Any help would be great.

Thanks

Angelo
Old 01-16-2021, 06:27 AM   #2

I don't remember the specific model, but I've been running a Garmin dash cam for the past five years. I've had no issues with the camera, and simply plug it into my laptop a couple of times a year to get the latest software updates. There's too much craziness on the roads for me to be without one.

DW rarely uses her car, but we have a camera in it too.
robkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2021, 08:03 AM   #3

I don’t remember the brand of my dash camera & it doesn’t say on it. Just get a 1080p quality and a wide angle lens. I’ve had it in my Ram 3500 for about 2 years now and just last month hard wired it into the mirror.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4796.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	56.1 KB
ID:	67126

Name:	IMG_4806.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	68.5 KB
ID:	67127

Name:	IMG_4807.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	59.8 KB
ID:	67128
Good luck with your purchase. I hope my pictures help.
Old 01-16-2021, 08:46 AM   #4