Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2015, 07:55 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Monroe
Posts: 17
Tv using over air antenna

So I've been trying to get my tv to work without cable or satelite with no luck. What's the secret? Can't get any signal but I think it's a tv setting, not antenna. Jayco Eagle Lite 2012
__________________

Ourfiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 08:08 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Dalton
Posts: 43
Check where your cable connects close to your television (may be in bedroom jack or living room jack) and you should find a small black button (amp button) on the panel. For antenna of course make sure you antenna is up if applicable then make sure the amp is pushed in for on. Some of them may even have a small led showing they are on. Once you have that scan on your tv's for your channels and that your input in antenna.
__________________

__________________
2011 Jay Flight 29QBH
2013 F250 6.7 Diesel Lariat FX4
:cool:
weekender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 08:10 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
DieselX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Winston Salem
Posts: 275
Raise the antenna and make sure your booster is on scan for channels. I always get 5-20 free air stations although i'm not a big tv person lol.
__________________
2011 32bhds
TV 2002 Excursion 7.3 Few mods ;)

DieselX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 08:47 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Murff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 2,116
You might make sure the TV has been set up for over the air stations. You may have to get into the Set-Up menu.

Murff
__________________
Murff
2015 White Hawk 20MRB (It's last year)
2011 F150 Non EcoBoost (5.0)
Andersen Hitch
Murff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 06:26 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 15
As stated above, the antenna booster must be on, or TV will show "no signal." Once you find it, set-up is a case of following instructions in the TV menu.

In my 2010 Eagle Lite, the booster is located on the inside wall of the bottom cabinet next to the TV. The SMALL black button is on a plate that should be labeled as the booster. In this location, it is a PITA to switch on and off, and easy to forget. Leaving the booster on while parked/stored without shore power will run down batteries over time, and generally ruin your day.

Chuck
__________________
2010 Eagle 31.5RLDS
2009 Chevy 3500 CCLB Dually Duramax
Chuck Hovonick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 02:07 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Monroe
Posts: 17
Thanks. I have switched the booster with same signal result. I have heard there may be a "plug and play" option on the tv and I'll look for that. Any other techy thoughts?
Ed
__________________
Me & meo
Ourfiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 02:41 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Quahog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,531
Not to be a nag but make sure you go into the TV settings and scan for channels... otherwise, you're not going to get any/many.
__________________
Mike, Sue, Sissy and Little Man

2015 Ford F350 Lariat FX4 6.7 CC DRW
2015 Eagle Premier 351RSTS

Quahog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 03:32 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Black River Falls, Wi
Posts: 676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Quahog View Post
Not to be a nag but make sure you go into the TV settings and scan for channels... otherwise, you're not going to get any/many.
And while you're into settings, make sure the TV is set to antenna not cable.
__________________
2014 Eagle Premier 331RETS
2016 Silverado 3500 DuraMax/Allison
1975 Corvette & a couple ATV's
Stingray75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 09:01 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Elgin
Posts: 38
Consider adding an HD antenna for reception of digital channels.
__________________
2013 Ford F350 6.7L Crew 4X4
2015 Pinnacle 38FLFS
Rob & Rhonda
Not yet retired, but counting the months to full-timing !
ArmyColonel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 09:26 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Wrascal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Lower Alabama (LA)
Posts: 1,919
Prior to last month, we (my bride and I) never once turned on the television, but after several days of rain she was missing it; and she just HAD to see the Fat people Race around the world to get off some island - or some such nonsense.

This required some playing around on my part (she's an inept PhD). First it required my choosing between several different antenna hookup options (all unmarked, between roof mounted unit, campground cable or satellite???, plus adding the amplifier switch on/off), plus several television settings: choosing between several input sources, as well as television settings to scan for digital channels; remember - analog channels no longer exist in the good old USA. Note: remember to raise your roof top mounted antenna. BIGGER NOTE: remember to lower same BEFORE departing.

I got lucky and was able to deduce mostly correct options and eventually got her running.

Of course this over the air stuff depends on you being in an area served this way. We picked up about 9 channels in the Bham, AL. outskirts.

She watched her show and I extracted payment.
__________________

__________________
2008 Jayco Eagle SuperLite 29.5
2014 F250 6.7 PSD 4X4, CC LB
Wrascal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.