Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 11-03-2014, 06:50 PM   #1

water heater shuts off

Just got back from elk hunting, My water heater wouldn't stay on. when you hit the gas turn on button it lites and runs for a few seconds then shuts off, it will repeat this a few times then kick the fault light on. the short time it does burn the iginitor will continue to "click". is almost like the "brains" of the water heater doesn't know its already burning.
any ideas....
Old 11-03-2014, 08:29 PM   #2

I'm no expert here, but it sounds like maybe the thermocoupler (maybe goes by another name) has failed.

The thermocoupler is a safety device that - when working correctly - determines if you have a flame at the pilot. When working correctly it senses the heat from the pilot flame and allows the propane to continue to flow. When it senses cold, IE: it thinks the pilot light blows out, and it shuts off the propane fuel so as to not flood the cabin with unburned propane. Good sensible thing to have.

But when it fails, it remains cold, and following its programmed logic it stops the flow of propane. It won't allow propane to flow and heat the water.

Hope this makes sense, it is the best this rookie can do.

If this is the case then I believe it is an easy, and cheap, repair.
Wrascal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2014, 08:33 PM   #3