Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 11-04-2019, 04:25 PM   #1

Winterizing question

Hello all.

This is my first time winterizing our Eagle HT 27.5 RLTS. Everything was pretty straightforward with our previous Jay Feather but this one is a little (a lot) different.

Access to the water pump is behind a removable panel in the basement. I see the water pump and the antifreeze hose. The pump has two valves on its lines - I just reversed them so I figure that's correct. I haven't sucked up the antifreeze yet because the battery is dead (trailer is way out the driveway so I'll be using the battery to run the pump) and I have it on the charger right now but I'm sure I'll be fine there. I drained the water heater and opened up one of the low point drains.

Now my questions:

1. To save my life I can't find the water heater bypass valves. It's tight in that basement and the access panel is small so Jayco did me no favors there. Any ideas?

2. The basement door, driver's side, has the "Low Point Drain" label but I'll be danged if I can find a drain. Again, any ideas?

Any help would be appreciated. I'm trying to avoid calling "customer service", such as it is.

Hope you're all having a great Fall (season, not a literal fall).

Tom
KillerIsMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2019, 04:52 PM   #2

On our HT 28.5 only the valve come into the pump has to be changed to draw antifreeze from a container. On ours if you change the discharge side the antifreeze will go to the fresh water tank not the water lines you want to protect. Ask me how I know that....

The HT 28.5 drains are directly below the outside water connections. They are against the outside wall on our trailer. Not sure on yours.

The water heater bypass on ours is under the pantry closet but I don't know if you have a pantry closet in the 27.5.

Good luck!
Old 11-04-2019, 07:52 PM   #3