Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-23-2019, 06:13 AM   #1

Holy Wind Noise!

Hi everyone. First post from a total newbie.

My wife and I have been looking at MH’s for several years and finally pulled the trigger on our first one, a 2019 Seneca.

We test drive some over the years and always liked the class C but we haven’t test driven one in the last 2 or 3 years. And we didn’t test drive the one we bought so I’m fully aware of my shortcoming in doing my homework.

We bought online and had delivered to the house, which was awesome. We messed with it for a week in the driveway and everything works as it should.

Yesterday we headed out on the maiden voyage.

We are happy with everything except the wind noise in the cab is incredibly loud. I don’t remember the ones we test drove years ago being so noisy and yes we drove them on the highway.

Any tips on what others have done to quiet it down? When we get it home I plan on taking everything out of the cab and lining with dynamat, under flooring, behind door panels, engine bay etc but I think the noise is coming through the gap in the doors.

Would better weather stripping help?

Thanks for any advice! We will be rolling from FL to CO this week and staying in CO for a few months.
RiskyBizness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 06:22 AM   #2

Good Morning! We don't have a MH, but wanted to welcome you and wish you safe and happy travels!

2019 Whitehawk 28RL
2018 Ford F150 3.5 Ecoboost w/3.55

Dennis, Cindy, Philip, and Sarah
Ohiofinlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 06:55 AM   #3

You have to remember your driving a truck with a house on the back. Both the E-450 and the KODIAK SENECA we had were noisy as compared to a car or van, but not a truck. Door noise was a common complaint with the 1st generation SENECAS in particular.
Old 02-23-2019, 07:10 AM   #4