Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 11-29-2022, 06:40 PM   #1

Onan generator

My onan 8000 quite diesel won't stay running. I'm new to my 2016 seneca, I got it this summer but have not used it yet as we only go south in the winter. Purchased it from a private person and all worked well. Mid summer I was going to exercise it and it just died. My thinking it just ran out of fuel, it was below half a tank and no big deal because everything needed servicing anyway. I change oil and filter, new fuel filter, and air filter, primed it several times with no luck of starting. I took off the return fuel line and pumped a half gallon of fuel out also. I saw the positive cable look green so i put a new crimped end on it. A side point is I also put new house batteries in. It starts and runs only for 3 seconds, blink code is 36. It has an energy command 30 in house that only light up the few seconds it runs also. Not sure what to check next?
Kbraun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2022, 07:25 PM   #2

Based on my aging memory.

I had read in the past on some other forum that I don't use anymore where this occurred and that the manual suggested checking the fuel supply. The 36 was seen and it turns out that 36 just means the shutdown wasn't expected, which most often means a fuel issue.

In any case, the one I remember and particular to the Onan diesel generator is that the RV'r had the exact symptoms (similar) that you reported and decided to run a 12v wire directly to the fuel pump, applied power, turned on the generator and the generator ran without an issue. This lead to him replacing the main control board in the generator that supplies the fuel pump power which resolved the issue. He had mentioned that he visually observed damaged capacitors on the board. (perhaps you may want to look at the board as your next step).