Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2023, 07:30 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: AZ
Posts: 48
I have thought about replacing the microwave to a microwave convection. Our convection toaster oven shell at home gets hot. Does a microwave convection oven shell get hot? If so, what protection is there within the cabinet or rv wall?
Gary_LHC_Arizona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2023, 08:07 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Tyler
Posts: 34
We've had our convection MW installed for about 2 years now and no problems with heat as they are made to go above a range between cabinets. The only issue we've had is the wall mounting plate is just thin stamped galv. steel and over time with all the bouncing on some of the interstates, one of the clips on the wall plate broke off. Had to remove the MW and replace the wall mount plate. This time I reinforced it with 1/8" aluminum bar between the backsplash and the wall mount. We'll see how long the mount lasts now. MW did not fall as it also bolts through the top of the slide. Reinforced that as well.
mprosser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2023, 08:40 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: AZ
Posts: 48
Thank you for your reply. I am going to move forward with the replacement. We camped last weekend and it would have been nice to use the convection mw oven.
Gary_LHC_Arizona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2023, 03:41 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Atascdero
Posts: 30
2017 Northpoint Microwave Replacement

Hello Jayco Friends,

I have a 2017 Northpoint and the microwave keeps blowing the fuse. I am not an electrical person at all so I was going to just replace it but am having a hard time finding a suitable replacement. I am attaching a picture of the unit and as you can see, it is mounted directly under the cabinet. The microwave has an exhaust discharge grid on the top of the microwave. All the replacement units I have looked at are sup[posed to go under an exhaust hood which I don't have. Any ideas? I can find the right size, just not the right type. Can I put one under this cabinet that is supposed to go under a hood? Click image for larger version

Name:	Microwave.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	144.5 KB
ID:	91156
Dolphin Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2023, 04:13 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 16,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dolphin Dude View Post
Hello Jayco Friends,

I have a 2017 Northpoint and the microwave keeps blowing the fuse. I am not an electrical person at all so I was going to just replace it but am having a hard time finding a suitable replacement. I am attaching a picture of the unit and as you can see, it is mounted directly under the cabinet. The microwave has an exhaust discharge grid on the top of the microwave. All the replacement units I have looked at are sup[posed to go under an exhaust hood which I don't have. Any ideas? I can find the right size, just not the right type. Can I put one under this cabinet that is supposed to go under a hood? Attachment 91156
You don't have a vent out the back, on the outside wall?
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2023, 05:22 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Atascdero
Posts: 30
I don't have the old unit out yet but I am guessing there isn't since there is an obvious vent system at the top of the unit with two filters behind it. I guess I should get the old unit out and see if there is a vent system behind it. I can also check the back wall as you have mentioned but it is part of the slide out so I am not sure
Dolphin Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2023, 05:33 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 16,479
You would see the black vent cap from the outside on the slide wall.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2023, 10:25 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 9,864
Double check. All residential units I have installed, have dual vents design. When installed, you choose vent out the back/top to the outside, or you choose to vent out the front into the room.

When you find a model you like, download the installation manual, and review the install options. I've done about 6 in the last decade.
__________________

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (sold)
Equal-I-zer 4-Point Sway Control
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2023, 10:38 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Atascdero
Posts: 30
I checked last night after I got home from work and it has a black vent on the outside wall. So this is confusing because the unit definitely has an exhaust outlet into the room at the top. I just need to replace this unit as we live in the coach full time. The dimensions are 30" wide, 15 1/2" tall and 15" deep.

So I was just going to buy one at Home Depot that mounts under the cabinet. Can I do that or am I missing something? I don't want to spend more than $300.
Dolphin Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2023, 10:44 AM   #30
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 16,479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dolphin Dude View Post
I checked last night after I got home from work and it has a black vent on the outside wall. So this is confusing because the unit definitely has an exhaust outlet into the room at the top. I just need to replace this unit as we live in the coach full time. The dimensions are 30" wide, 15 1/2" tall and 15" deep.

So I was just going to buy one at Home Depot that mounts under the cabinet. Can I do that or am I missing something? I don't want to spend more than $300.
That vent on top is only for ancillary venting, the one on the slide wall is for the vent over the stove. If you haven't opened the black vent on the wall that is why you're getting air out of the top. The one you're looking at should work.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.