Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-28-2019, 08:29 PM   #1

Seneca house batteries recommendations

Greetings, all:

We're preparing our 2015 Seneca for traveling north for the summer, now that the area seems to have thawed, and have discovered our four house batteries need to be replaced. I'm far from an electrical expert, so I will appreciate your recommendations for new deep cycle batteries. What do you think about the Duracell AGM Deep Cycle Marine and RV Battery (Group Size 34M)?
PopRocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 08:45 PM   #2

Don't know particular long-term history regarding that battery, but a quick check showed that it is indeed a "dual-purpose" battery, not a dedicated deep-cycle battery. Examples of deep-cycle battery types may be a 6-volt golf cart battery like Trojan and other manufacturers offer. What does that mean? Generally true deep-cycle batteries have thicker plates which can translate to more charge/discharge cycles and longer useful life when properly cared for. That care includes not excessively discharging them and keeping them properly watered. If you talk to those who are big into solar, many will say "real" deep-cycle batteries provide the best service for the lowest cost. But now lithium batteries are showing up more and more........

An advantage to the AGM batteries is not having to periodically water them. But excessively discharging them will also greatly shorten their life. If you don't boondock often and don't plan to install solar you will likely be served well by the batteries you mention.

I have 4 Trojan T-105 6-volt batteries in my Seneca and they are great. I also have a single point watering system that makes keeping them watered a 5-minute trouble free task.
Toads: 2019 Ford Edge ST or 2013 Ford Focus ST
Robbbyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2019, 08:51 PM   #3