Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 11-09-2018, 05:13 PM   #1

Winterizing Seneca

I bought a 2015 Seneca 36 FK this summer and now it's time to winterize it. Since it's my first time with this unit, I thought that I would ask the group if there are any insights or practices that I should put into place while winterizing? I plan to blow air through the system before adding the antifreeze. I live in central Ohio and need to do this.
Any thoughts are appreciated. Thank you, Larry.
Roundtowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2018, 08:30 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roundtowner View Post
I bought a 2015 Seneca 36 FK this summer and now it's time to winterize it. Since it's my first time with this unit, I thought that I would ask the group if there are any insights or practices that I should put into place while winterizing? I plan to blow air through the system before adding the antifreeze. I live in central Ohio and need to do this.
Any thoughts are appreciated. Thank you, Larry.
Hello fellow Ohio Seneca owner! I too blow mine out first, then I pump antifreeze. Belt and suspenders kind of guy I guess!

I first remove the whole-house water filter element, tossing out the element knowing I will replace with new in the Spring. Before I replace the filter bowl I hook up my regulated air supply to the City Inlet connection and blow out that short section of line between the panel and the filter. Then I replace the bowl and continue blowing out the rest of the system. When I pump antifreeze I first (again) remove the bowl and fill it with pink stuff, then replace it. That helps the pump pick up suction more easily.