Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-14-2019, 09:24 AM   #1

154BH Wall mounted AC cover & leaking issue.

Hello:

Newbie here just purchased a 2019 Jayco SLX 154BH. Unit has a wall mounted AC. I am trying to find out if anyone has placed a cover on the outside vent to cover when not in used. Something that can be used during travel or when there is no need for an AC. I am trying to prevent any leaks inside the camper. If you have, what did you used.

Also for anyone that does have this camper, does the AC units in this model still leak inside?

Thank you for your time.

Leo.
Pibe75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 10:41 AM   #2

If you use the search button above you will find that water leaking inside is usually from AC condensation.

Some of these window AC units are not level as installed. Also, your drain outside may be plugged. Then to add to the problem the roof air vent may be improperly installed.

After all that there are hidden screws holding it in if you ever need to take it out.

In any case, do a search, read the various suggestions on how to cure each.

I am luck so far, only my front window has leaked, been "fixed" started leaking again, been "sealed" and finally totally re-caulked by me.
200 Watts solar panels from Renogy

Prev. '14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland, gas 3.6 V6
RogerR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 10:45 AM   #3