Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-20-2023, 04:33 PM   #1

1978 Jayco Raven Travel Trailer

so my wife and i bought a 1978 Jayco Raven. it needs some work. some serious work. we essentially bought it sight unseen (a 15 min viewing before we made the call) because trailers that low in cost are flying off the walls in our area. this was the 1st trailer we got first dibs at, and we wanted a project trailer for a lower cost. we paid $600 Cdn, and knew off the bat that work would need to be done to the lights (he knew 2 worked), plumbing (had not been used in years), the gas for fridge didnt work, and that the brake and turn signals didnt work (but the running lights did) and it needed new tires. we knew that right off the bat.

the good news is i have some experience in construction, and having just built a commercial kitchen in our house to help grow our small business, i was not scared of the trailer. i have done vehicle work on all my trucks, cars, vans, SUV's over the years, including vehicle wiring and such, brakes, and all the way up to valve replacements and the like. so technical stuff isnt a big concern for me.

Right away, i know i need to get the brakes checked, the lights working and shore power fixed up.

my plan is to work on it until it is usable for our family of 4, then use it all summer for recreation and our business. and continue to do small renos and such as we go. i get to do all the major stuff myself, make is all work and be stable, and then my wife will do paint and such.

Feel free to suggest work to be done, things to change, floorplan ideas or general tips. as growth and improvement should never be done alone, and we should all access those with experience.

here is what we were working with. in the RAW state we bought it. i bought this on April 10th, and had no chance to work on it until last night.