Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 01-07-2021, 02:21 PM   #1

Question 2007 Jay Feather 30U Newb

Blushing newbie here!

I recently purchased a 2007 Jay Feather 30U from a guy near Cleveland, TX who does refurbs. Big mistake...but the $5K is already in his greasy little mitts, so I'm making the best of it I can. Being under-schooled in RV's was my own fault, and I was just so excited to have one that I didn't do a very thorough job on my homework. My bad, and my expense. The guy masked a nasty water leak over the bunkroom that had to be addressed due to extensive mold. I should've known something was amiss given the smell, but he assured me all RV's "had that certain smell about them." Right...

After extensive tear out and mold remediation with Biocide, I'm in the process of reconstructing the bunkroom, leaving only the lower bunk that covers the wiring and A/C. I'm planning on putting a sewing table in there

I'm also repainting the entire interior and replacing all the window treatments with ones I'm making myself. I had the guy pull out the sofa and dinette, which I'm replacing with a table and chairs and a "sofa" I'm making out of a queen foam mattress that I'm cutting into thirds to stack and making a cover and bolster pillows for it. I'm looking forward to being done with all this sewing!

Okay, my questions about replacing/repairing stuff:
The skylight liner in the bathroom has cracked around the screws that hold it up. Any suggestions on a replacement acquisition or repair ideas?

The previous owner brilliantly decided to seal around the tub with that horrible clear rubberized silicone sealant that is now moldy and HELL to remove. Any suggestions on getting that crap off?