Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-15-2010, 09:56 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 9
2010 29 bds converter upgrades?

I just purchased a new 29 bds and immediately installed 2 triton t105 batteries.

I do a lot of dry camping and I want to have more capacity. I understand from reading a variety of forums (no personal experience here) that the manufacturers usually put low grade converters in their units.

So if this is true, what is a quality converter to go with ,as I want to put in a solar panel and an inverter to run small things like the coffee maker and entertainment system.
__________________

vesteroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2010, 06:15 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Las Cruces, NM
Posts: 18
What model came in yours?

My new 26BH came with a Progressive Dynamics power center with a converter with four stage battery charging. I don't know what I'd upgrade to.
__________________

RedOrGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 12:32 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
I guess a dumb question here but where is the converter located? Is that at the fuse panel or is it outside at the battery?
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 12:43 PM   #4
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by namusmc65 View Post
I guess a dumb question here but where is the converter located? Is that at the fuse panel or is it outside at the battery?
At the fuse panel.
__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 12:47 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
I guess in looking at the Iota 45 amp converters on their website, it does not look like what I'm seeing in my unit. I"m going to have to take another look and see what unit I actually have. I am finding that to be true about a lot of things. In your owners packet, you get a book for each item such as furnace, ac unit, etc, but the book covers several different models so you really don't know what size ac or furnace you have until you start pulling covers off and determining for yourself. I looked at the build sheet or invoice on my unit and it just states brand of ac or furnace, etc, but not size.
It is all a learning experience.
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 01:07 PM   #6
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,654
The size of the AC should be on the build sheet on the options side. It would say Customer value pkg 15M a/c for the 15000 btu or Customer value pkg 13.5M a/c for the 13500 btu. Some of the manuals are all in one where you have to figure out which model you have. And the owners manual can be a little vague on some things. It took me awhile to find the place where you can manually retract the slide if necessary. -Lee
__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 01:11 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
ah ha, thanks for that one. I have the 15 m A/C customer value package so that should make the wife happy as she can't stand to be hot! lol I thought that was probably it but was not sure. Not sure what size the furnace is but it definitely heats the place up and quick. I have found the bedroom area stays really warm as there is a opening at the foot of the bed, another one at the bathroom door, and another one in the doorway to the living area, all within 5 feet. The furnace just says auto-ign with thermostat and nothing about btu's.
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 01:31 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
Well, we are learning more every day and building a nice file on this unit. You can actually see the model number of the furnace through the inside grill lying down with a flashlight. I found out I have the model # 8531 which puts out 30,000 BTU's. No wonder it keeps it nice and toasty! lol I still have not figured out the converter yet, unless it is located behind the fuse panel. Would have to power down everything to pull the panel out. THink for now I will just check the battery fluid level outside every month. Maybe someone can give me more insight on that but don't want to ruin the double batteries.
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 04:11 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 427
I was extremely lucky that my TT had all the manuals stuffed in the TV cabinet. So I got all the orignal owner/operator manuals for all the devices in my rig...

But if you need a hand search up manuals for your just let me know... I've got a nose for searching things out on the internet...
Mopar1973Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2011, 09:09 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
I have the manuals, but they all seem to cover several different models. YOu still have to determine which model is installed on your unit.
__________________

__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.