Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-09-2014, 10:31 PM   #1

2014 Jayco X17Z

Hey guys we just bought a 2014 Jayco X17Z. I currently have a 2000 Nissan Xterra SE 3.6L. Towing capacity is 5000lbs. Our vehicle was bought brand new and has many more years to go as we took care of it all these. Only 155K on it. Engine wise we just had it checked over and mechanic said it has lots of life left in it. I've done my research and I know you never max out the towing capacity. I liked that the Jayco was only 3084lbs (I think). I hope this still means if we keep up the regular maintenance of our vehicle it shouldn't crap out on us. What do you think. Feel free to respond anything as I am new to towing anything bigger then a pop up(which we owned prior this trailer). Keep in mind where I live it's very flat country side so I don't have to deal with hills. Keep calm and camp on
Tomsuver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 10:57 PM   #2

First congratulations on the new 17Z. I would check a few things on your Xterra. First your hitch condition and its load rating. I would also verify that you have a transmission cooler. If your transmission runs hot your tranny it will have a short life. Last thing, purchase some aftermarket mirrors so you can safely see what is going on.

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (sold)
Equal-I-zer 4-Point Sway Control
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 06:45 AM   #3

Congrats and welcome. Sounds like you have a good combination.

Good advice from Jagiven.....I tow with an higher mileage Tow Vehicle as well...I have my suspension, transmission, brakes and tires regularly inspected and up to date on their servicings.
Threebutchers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 07:27 AM   #4