Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-03-2016, 06:48 PM   #1

2017 Hummingbird

Hello,

I'm new to this hobbie and will likely purchase a new hummingbird 17FD. I'm hearing this is a new platform for Jayco. It's just the wife and I and two small kids. Will this be a good fit? Are there any bad experiences yet out there on this platform/model?

Thanks.
wheels180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2016, 07:26 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by wheels180 View Post
Hello,

I'm new to this hobbie and will likely purchase a new hummingbird 17FD. I'm hearing this is a new platform for Jayco. It's just the wife and I and two small kids. Will this be a good fit? Are there any bad experiences yet out there on this platform/model?

Thanks.
Welcome!

Those are definitely new, just had to head over to jayco.com to see what they were.

Looks like a nice light trailer! I am going to be interested to see how many more floor-plans they come out with on that.

If I had to give you any pointers....

One thing I would point out would be the cargo capacity, the 1 model on jayco.com was only a little over 1000 and 1 closer to 800 lbs you could add to the trailer, and that may or may not include the weight of the LP Tanks and Battery. You might be a little limited on how much stuff you put in the storage areas, cabinets, etc to be within those weights. Those numbers should also be on a yellow sticker on the side of the trailer at your dealer assuming they have a model there.