Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-17-2022, 08:44 PM   #1

2018 Jayco 175RD Furnace issue

Me and my wife recently purchased our travel trailer and went on our first outing over the weekend. It got super cold the first night and I go to turn on the furance at the thermostat and adjust the temp and it turns on fine and you can hear the fan blowing cold air for about 30 seconds and then it just shuts off. If I adjust the Temperature it will kick back on everytime but shut off 30 seconds later ��. I'm brand new to camping in a travel trailer so any advice would be amazing
Attached Thumbnails
20220416_110328.jpg  
T.clark21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2022, 09:21 PM   #2
Site Team

If our furnace hasn't been run in quite a while or at all yet, it'll take 3 or 4 tries before the propane gets to the furnace to keep it lit. The 30 second run of the fan is normal. At this time the fan operates the sail switch, which activates the gas valve. The igniter then lights the gas, and it fires up.

A way to help the propane get flowing, is light a burner on the stove.

2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2016 Ford F150 XLT 2X4 SC 3.5L Eco Max Tow
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab (Traded)
2 new fluffy Corgis, Bayley and Stanley
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2022, 10:31 PM   #3

Maybe I'll try that cause I know after the second or 3rd try I just gave up. I'll try lighting the stove and then giving it another if not luck maybe I'll lean towards the sail switch
T.clark21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2022, 06:05 AM   #4