Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-14-2023, 11:09 AM   #1

2021 Jay Flight 174BH HOT WATER - ELECTRIC

NEWBIE HERE....
Connected to water source at campground...tanks are filled ... flipped the electric water heater switch at the door, but no hot water after an hour or so of hoping it would work...
Any suggestions on where I should begin.

I seen someone post that the pilot needed to be lighted, but I'm not wanting to use gas...

HELP ... I have no clue what I'm doing...
jodi1430 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2023, 12:01 PM   #2

Can you please provide the manufacturer name?
Usually Atwood, Dometic or Suburban
The installs are different between Atwood and Suburban

RoadrunnerII

TV 2016 F250 Crew Sterling Gray SB 6.7 PS airlift ultimate Air bags
2017 Eagle 321RSTS
Pullrite autoslider
RoadrunnerII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2023, 12:09 PM   #3

Is your trailer plugged into the power pedestal at the campground and is the main breaker switched on? Also, check the breaker for the hot water heater to see if it has tripped. If yours has the option to bypass the water heater (for winterizing) make sure it's still not in bypass mode. If still nothing, try running it on gas.
GraphiteDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 10:52 AM   #4

I tried to figure this out last summer, after several hours of manual reading and internet searches I found nothing. Turns out maybe our unit (I have a 2020 174BH) doesn't have the electric tank. Mine is a dometic

2020 Toyota Tacoma TRD OR
jaydawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2023, 11:03 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaydawg View Post
I tried to figure this out last summer, after several hours of manual reading and internet searches I found nothing. Turns out maybe our unit (I have a 2020 174BH) doesn't have the electric tank. Mine is a dometic