Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Closed Thread

Old 06-29-2015, 03:49 PM   #1

28DSBH - floor plan, TV

Hello,

I am thinking about buying 2016 WHITE HAWK 28DSBH. I am new to the TT concept, therefore, I have a few questions.

Background

Family: me, wife, toddler, number two in the 1-2 years time + dog

TV: BMW X5 diesel, tongue weight 600 lbs, towing capacity 7,700 lbs (there are some other specs online – 6,000 lbs -, but I am confident 7,700 lbs is the proper one for my vehicle)

TT: Dry Hitch Weight 655 lbs, Unloaded Vehicle Weight 6020 lbs, Gross Vehicle Weight Rating 7500 lbs

2016 White Hawk 28DSBH | Jayco, Inc.

Questions

Do you think that this trailer (floorplan, etc.) is a good idea for my family? I have no experience with travel trailers, so I really need an advice from more experienced folks.

The issue which bugs me is the tongue weight. I see two options here: using weight distribution system (which is not recommended by BMW, but many owners use it without problems) or to try to pack some stuff in the back of the trailer to keep the tongue weight as low as possible. I need to admit that I do not want to be conservative as many owners are. If not this model, I would like to use the max of my car towing capacity.

Please let me know what do you think about it?

I am very much into hiking. I love Yosemite NP. There are many campground spots which are restricted to 24 ft long trailers. I have read that this is not a restriction per se as nobody is checking the size of the trailer and as far as you can park the trailer without blocking the road you should be fine.

The trailer I am looking at is 32' 9" long – question to Yosemite experts: is it too long for this park or generally, should be fine?

Many thanks for your feedback!

bono
Old 06-29-2015, 07:13 PM   #2
bap