Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2018, 03:12 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Prince George
Posts: 40
30 amp into 15 amp

New to rving. My trailer is a 30 amp. If I camp at a site that has 15 amp, can I still hook up? Will it power my a/c which is 13,500 btu?
Gadget13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 03:22 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Rialto
Posts: 33
Running on 15A.

It might but u won't be able to run much of anything else that 120V.
stevebarbsmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 04:20 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 9,077
I have run my ac off my 15 amp garage outlet. I do not like doing it, and have not done it for long periods.

Every electric campsite I have seen, have at minimum a traditional 20 amp and 30 amp 120 volt outlet. Sometimes there is in addition of a 50 amp 240 volt oultlet.

All summer at home I am plugged into a 20 amp outlet.
__________________

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (retired from towing)
Equal-I-zer 4-Point Sway Control
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 04:34 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Twin Lake
Posts: 72
I hook up to 15 amp at home all the time when the TT is parked, you can get adapters at Walmart for low cost that are good quality. I run our fridge and keep our battery charged when our TT is sitting home. On a real hot day, I can run the A/C on low cool and it's fine. It will trip if I try to run A/C on high.
markscns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 05:06 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Calgary
Posts: 458
My AC runs on 15 amp just fine as long as I ha e no other large loads on at the same time. Had my exterior fridge trying to cool full blast with the AC, and it tripped the breaker at my in-laws place. Was through a 100' cord too, which doesn't help.
GrumpyDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 05:17 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
RogerR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Mapleton
Posts: 3,750
Every time I plugged my old ceiling AC (13,500 btu) into the house 15 amp outlet it blew the breaker after a few minutes. The reason you have a 30 amp cord is because you may need 30 to run everything!

I now have a 2017 195RB with a 5,000 btu window AC that runs fine.

I have a little plug in voltage detector that show a 120 volt to 117 volt drop when the AC compressor is running.

It varies by AC unit what the lowest recommended voltage is allowed before potential damage.
IF I saw below 110 volts I would run an AC on it.
__________________
2017 SLX 195RB
2021 Jeep Grand Cherokee Summit L 5.7L V8
Andersen WDH hitch, Renogy 100 AH Lithium &
200 Watts solar panels from Renogy

Prev. '14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland, gas 3.6 V6
RogerR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 06:20 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Galesburg
Posts: 119
Just make sure you are not starving your A/C for voltage or amperage....it could after some time damage your unit.
12ptdroptine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 06:26 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,647
If you are plugging into an outlet in your garage and the house was built in the last 30 years most likely your garage plug should be 20amp if the electrical code was followed, check the breakers
Sundancer330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 06:43 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
North of 49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 942
Like others have said, you can, but....

To help the system, put both your fridge and water heater on gas. If either of those is running when the AC is on, that definitely will trip the breaker.
__________________
Geoff & Jill
& Sierra, the little white monster
2013 Ford F-150 XTR SC Ecoboost
2015 Jayco Jay Flight 24FBS
Winnipeg, Manitoba
North of 49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2018, 06:51 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Milford
Posts: 31
You can, but I recommend using the largest AWG (wire size) cord possible. 10 AWG is most ideal, 12 AWG is acceptable as well using shortest cord possible. These are key to not only prevent damage to power cord but also not "starve the A\C of power". Keep in mind of things that receive power that you don't normally think of like your converter that is powering lights and charging the battery. They may cause you to trip a breaker, if you can go without charging battery you turn off breaker to converter at the service panel to save some amperage.
Overloaded is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.