Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2016, 07:58 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Nashville
Posts: 470
Quote:
Originally Posted by Levinehikeski View Post
The fridge needs 12volts and propane, nothing to do with shore power.
Actually, if the fridge is set to auto when you connect to shore power, it will in fact run off the ac power from the shore outlet. It uses about 6 amps of ac power to operate the electric heating element.
__________________

Hohenwald48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 08:09 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rio Rancho
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by olyelr View Post
Just use whatever you want to use. If you draw too much power, it will trip the breaker in the house. No biggy.
The main reason I bought the trailer was for work I travel around the state and sometimes a bit further for work. It beats staying in motels. I usually just park in a free place like Walmart or SAMs and have been using my generator... Then I came across this rv plug accessory and started wondering.. I could stay on location work sites which is usually church buildings... So I'd want to make sure I wasn't tripping a breaker there..

I should be able to test at home though and see what if anything I would really use would trip a breaker..? Right..
__________________

23jayco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 08:59 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
oldmanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 7,055
You could test it to find the limits at your house, but IMO, the better plan would be just don't use your trailer's high current draw items; microwave and air conditioner. In addition, don't bring in electric heaters, toaster ovens, hair dryers, etc. to use in your trailer.

So, what high current draw items to you use?
__________________
Sherm & Terry w/rescues Eydie (min Schnauzer) Steve RIP (std Poodle)
2015 Jay Flight 27RLS (Camped: 102 nights '15, 90 nights '16, 70 nights '17 so far)
2006 Ford F350 6.0 PSD, Lariat, 4WD, CC, LB, SRW, auto., Camper pkg.
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 09:27 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
BuddyRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Decatur
Posts: 643
Need to be careful here. I know IN THEORY the home circuit breaker will trip before damage is done but there is one more thing to be concerned with - the extension cord.
I had a 50ft orange extension cord plugged into the house on a 20 amp circuit. DW got hot loading the trailer and turned on the AC without realizing what she was doing.
That 50ft extension cord is probably 14 gauge wire. 20amp breaker didn't trip but the voltage reaching the TT was probably very low. AC quit working after a few minutes. I fixed it myself by replacing the fan motor - which was toast.
__________________
Buddy Ray - Atlanta
---------------
Jayco 2016 Eagle HT 26.5RLS
Ford 2016 F150 Lariat, 3.5L V6 Ecoboost
Max Tow Pkg, 36gal tank
Reese Sidewinder and Reese Titan 16k hitch
BuddyRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 11:02 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rio Rancho
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldmanAZ View Post
You could test it to find the limits at your house, but IMO, the better plan would be just don't use your trailer's high current draw items; microwave and air conditioner. In addition, don't bring in electric heaters, toaster ovens, hair dryers, etc. to use in your trailer.

So, what high current draw items to you use?

Really the main thing is I watch a movie or tv at night for a while.. Sometimes use the microwave to warm up dinner.. The only other thing is charge my computer and I know that is 160 watts to charge it.
23jayco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2016, 11:04 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rio Rancho
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuddyRay View Post
Need to be careful here. I know IN THEORY the home circuit breaker will trip before damage is done but there is one more thing to be concerned with - the extension cord.
I had a 50ft orange extension cord plugged into the house on a 20 amp circuit. DW got hot loading the trailer and turned on the AC without realizing what she was doing.
That 50ft extension cord is probably 14 gauge wire. 20amp breaker didn't trip but the voltage reaching the TT was probably very low. AC quit working after a few minutes. I fixed it myself by replacing the fan motor - which was toast.
Yea I know to use a heavy duty rv extension cord.
23jayco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 12:04 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,499
Your 30 amp service on the TT is 30 amp at 120 volts, or 3600 watts. Most likely if you plug into a commercial standard outlet it will be 20 amp at 120 volt. A 13,500 BTU AC will draw 1600 watts or about 14 amps. I have on many occasions while plugged into a home 20 amp service used the AC with no issues. The Refrigerator uses from 400 - 1200 watts. again I always ran the Frig on shore power with the AC on the 20 amp circuit with no issues. I would dare say yours is closer to the low end of the range. 25" TV is about 300 watts. I would run your water heater on propane as that alone can use 12 -13 amps.

If you want to use the MW turn your AC off while using the MW, no issues. You could change out lights from tail light bulbs to LED which would help a little. I would try it at home, on a 20 amp circuit and see what you can use, it's amazing how little you actually use.

When plugged into a 30 amp receptacle we use electric hot water, AC, MW, TV lights, computers etc with never an issue.

If you have a longer run up to 50', I would get a 30 amp cord and you should experience no voltage drops or other issues. Remember anything with a heating element will draw the most power, hair dryer, toaster etc.

Good Luck and enjoy your TT !
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 12:13 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rio Rancho
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by wags999 View Post
Your 30 amp service on the TT is 30 amp at 120 volts, or 3600 watts. Most likely if you plug into a commercial standard outlet it will be 20 amp at 120 volt. A 13,500 BTU AC will draw 1600 watts or about 14 amps. I have on many occasions while plugged into a home 20 amp service used the AC with no issues. The Refrigerator uses from 400 - 1200 watts. again I always ran the Frig on shore power with the AC on the 20 amp circuit with no issues. I would dare say yours is closer to the low end of the range. 25" TV is about 300 watts. I would run your water heater on propane as that alone can use 12 -13 amps.

If you want to use the MW turn your AC off while using the MW, no issues. You could change out lights from tail light bulbs to LED which would help a little. I would try it at home, on a 20 amp circuit and see what you can use, it's amazing how little you actually use.

When plugged into a 30 amp receptacle we use electric hot water, AC, MW, TV lights, computers etc with never an issue.

If you have a longer run up to 50', I would get a 30 amp cord and you should experience no voltage drops or other issues. Remember anything with a heating element will draw the most power, hair dryer, toaster etc.

Good Luck and enjoy your TT !
thank you, ill be doing some testing tomorrow. all the lights are led already.
23jayco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 12:17 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,499
Concerning voltage drops. A 100' 14 ga. ext cord pulling 15 amps will experience a voltage drop of about 9 volts, which is right at the point an electrical management system will cut power off (10 volt drop). A 100' 12 ga ext cord pulling 20 amps will experience a little less than 8 volt drop. A 10 ga ext cord at 100 ' pulling 30 amps will experience about 7 volt drop.

An electrical management system will typically shut power off at a plus or minus 10% or 132 volts and at 108 volts. Inside those ranges you should experience no issues.
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 07:47 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Dale Hollow Lake Tn/Ky
Posts: 1,943
Quote:
Originally Posted by 23jayco View Post
thank you, ill be doing some testing tomorrow. all the lights are led already.
U should listen to what he said, plugging into a standard 15 or 20 amp outlet vs a 30 amp rv post is enough power to run just about anything in your TT, just not all at the same time. Want to defrost something in the microwave, turn off the AC. U should also get a good HD extension if necessary to reach an outlet. Otherwise this "testing" you say you plan to do is really unnecessary as the folks here have been there and done that. I personally have ran my AC for multidays using a standard outlet at a friends home with no problems. There is nothing on your TT that could be adversely affected and the only thing you might do is trip the breaker on the outlet you plug into if you put to heavy a draw on the circuit. Exactly like trying to plug 2 electric heaters into the same circuit in your house. That would exceed the capacity of the circuit and trip the breaker.

Move forward with your plan to stay at worksites and just make sure you have permission from the site owners as you will be poaching their electricity.
__________________

Bassdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.