Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-21-2013, 02:57 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 59
30 or 50 amps?

We're working with out local dealer to order a new Jay Flight 32TSBH directly from the factory with the specific options we want. What are some opinions on upgrading to the 50amp service or saving the few hundred dollars and sticking with the 30amp?

We are sticking with a manual awning and the 13.5k AC. The trailer will be parked at a seasonal site that has both 30 and 50 connections. We really don't anticipate moving to another CG anytime in the future.
turkii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 03:22 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 9,807
With what you state a 30 amp would be fine. However there are some advantages of the 50 amp, and that would be you can run the AC and the microwave at the same time without tripping the main circuit breaker. However, if you start to pull it around from site to site, then the 30 amp is typically more available. If you are only staying at seasonal sites, they all seem to have 50 amp services.
__________________

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (sold)
Equal-I-zer 4-Point Sway Control
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 05:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
tinlizzie23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Luray, VA (central Shenandoah Valley of VA)
Posts: 1,430
X2. Basically, with a 30 amp, you have one hot wire at 110V, a ground, and a neutral. With 50 amp, you have the same ground and neutral, but the 4th wire is a second 110V circuit, enabling you to run more equipment without blowing a fuse. The 50 amp is necessary if you are running two A/C units, as well. We went from a 30 amp TT to a 50 amp 5er, and were pleasantly surprised at the convenience of what the 50 amp allows us to do. For the extra few hundred dollars, I would definitely go with the 50 amps - you will remember the extra convenience long after you have forgotten the price, IMHO.
__________________
2003 Ford F-350 V-10 Crew Cab 4WD Long Bed
2004 Jayco Designer Medallion 29 RLTS 5th wheel
Bill, Gayle, Teddy (Jack Russell terrier), and Honey (Beagle)
Retired at last !

Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently talented fool.
tinlizzie23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 06:27 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 96
30 or 50 amps?

You can always dogbone with an adapter to 30 if need be.
Ecfeick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 07:45 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
2edgesword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 1,402
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jagiven View Post
However there are some advantages of the 50 amp, and that would be you can run the AC and the microwave at the same time without tripping the main circuit breaker.
If you have the dollars go 50 amp.

Having said that I have 30 amp set-up, run the 13.5K A/C and have had no issues running the microwave (1,000 watt) at the same time. My guess is that the only time you'd run into a problem is if you happen to be running the microwave and try to start the A/C at the same time. That A/C start load may very well trip a breaker.
__________________

2018 Jayco 28RLS
2012 F-250 6.2L 3.73
Equalizer Hitch
Yamaha 2400ISHC
2edgesword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 07:47 PM   #6
Site Team
 
FPM III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fayette Ridges of PA, USA
Posts: 5,254
Save your money. I can't see any need for 50 amp unless you plan to have two A/C units. I have 30 amp with one A/C unit and in the 14 seasons I've camped in my TT I don't recall tripping a breaker more than once or twice. When I camp, I don't do anything special- I run the A.C, the refrigerator and HWH are on electric and I use all other heavy draw electric appliances with thought. In other words, I don't put/use a toaster and electric coffee maker on the same circuit. I have a bigger problem with under voltage issues at campgrounds; especially when the demand for electricity is high. Sometimes it's serious enough to require switching the refrigerator and/of HWH over to gas. My Norcold N841 seems to be very sensitive to low voltage situations.
__________________
MODERATOR

TV: 2009 GMC Sierra 2500HD | Crew Cab | Std. Box | 4WD | Duramax/Allison
RV: 2000 Jayco Eagle 266 | FBS | TT
PREVIOUS: 1986 Coleman Laramie pop-up -- Still in the family!!!

FPM III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 09:07 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Idaho/Arizona
Posts: 5,446
The 50 amp cord is very hard to roll up when it's cold. Our trailer is 50 amp and we use the 30 amp adapter and lighter cord quite often.
clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 06:39 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Central Ohio
Posts: 216
We have 30 Amp service on our 32BHDS. We manage OK with it, but when I buy my next trailer it WILL have 50 Amp service.
__________________
Jim
1999 Silverado 1500 ECSB 4x4 5.3/3.73s
2009 Jayco 32BHDS
jwstewar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:02 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 974
If you need 50amps the 50amps will be there, if you need 30amps the 50amp service will do that also.
Coffee maker = 1000 watts = 10amps (if it has a hot plate to keep the coffee hot)
hair dryer = 1000 watts = 10 amps
electric space heater = 1500 watts = 15 amps

All that = tripped main breaker without even talking about air conditioning or microwave.

But also consider that even with 50amp service you still need to consider power management. IOW, you can't live in an RV as though you have 200amp service like a stick house, even if you have 50 amp service.
__________________
No man has a good enough memory to be a successful liar. Abraham Lincoln

2016 36FBTS Pinnacle
2016 F350, 6.7, 4x4, DRW, long bed
B & W Companion 5th wheel Hitch
eldermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:47 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Seann45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sask Canada
Posts: 10,727
50 amp is really just if you have a second A/C unit personally I would not bother with it..
__________________
Seann
2004 Chev Silverado Duramax optioned past the max. 2009 Jayco Eagle 308 RLS 900watts of solar, Lithium batteries (400amp hour), 3000 watt (4000 surge) whole house inverter.
[LEFT][COLOR="DarkGreen"][B]104days202445/2023[B]2022/151/ 2021
93/2020]157/2019[B]219/2018[206/2017 215/2016, 211/2015, 196/14, 247/13, 193/12
Seann45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 08:49 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Dale Hollow Lake Tn/Ky
Posts: 2,525
How much is the $$$$ for the upgrade to 50A? Unless its a big number, go with your gut. I wouldn't consider it but then I use my TT in a more conventional manner. If you plan to set up and stay, more capacity might be worth it depending on what the cost is. Agree with another poster, unless you have dual AC, you can pretty much handle your needs with 30A as long as you manage your load in the kitchen and bathroom. Screw up and you unplug, reset the breaker, and remember what you did wrong. My only trips were when the toaster and the Microwave tangled or an electric space heater and a hairdryer were plugged into the same circuit. With only the wife and I, we have very few issues [with the power anyway].
Bassdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 10:31 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
cekkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pahrump
Posts: 4,039
We have 30 and it would be a lot more convenient if we had 50. We can start the microwave with our 15.0 ac running, but must make sure the water heater isn't on. If it's chilly an electric heater is cheaper to operate than the furnace. Another big power user. We get along fine on weekends but found it necessary to run a #10 extension from the post's duplex receptacle into the rig to power heaters, toaster oven, etc., when we spent a few months in it last winter. You know your needs best, but DW tends to not think about overloading. That hair dryer could go on at any moment!

I, OTOH, never mess up.
__________________
'11 Eagle 320RLDS
'02 F350 PSD Dually 4WD
DW's Ride, '13 Expedition
'14 Denali XL
cekkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 03:16 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
krackeer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Greenville SC
Posts: 843
Personally, if its only a few hundred bucks, jump to the 50 amp! If you look at what your spending total, a few hundred isn't a deal breaker. It will also help come resale time. GO WITH THE 50! I wish I had!
__________________
2012 Jayco 32 TSBH
Stored in Myrtle Beach/Surfside SC
2006 Tundra DC with tow package
No TV since Tundra can't do it

krackeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 06:47 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Dale Hollow Lake Tn/Ky
Posts: 2,525
What comes with the 50A upgrade? Unless they spread the loads over more breakers, you aren't accomplishing anything. Hope
Bassdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:08 PM   #15
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: James Island, SC
Posts: 22,892
You have over 3 times as many amps available with 50a service.

Most big rigs with 2 ac's are severely limited if they had only 30a available without active load management. We do it at times in some parks and some types of weather but is is a little work and inconvenient.
__________________
Moderator
2011- 351RLTS Eagle, MorRyde suspension/pin box,
2017- F350 6.7 PSD Lariat FX4,SRW, SB,CC
Hughes PWD SP-50A, TST TPMS
Gator roll-up bed cover
B&W Turnover ball, Companion Std hitch
Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 07:23 PM   #16
Member
 
rotjovi2269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Duluth, MN
Posts: 91
30 or 50 amps?

I won't even look at an RV without 50 amp. Been there and done that with the 30 amp. Nuff said.
rotjovi2269 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.