Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2012, 02:00 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
LBL 1206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Land Between the Lakes, Tn
Posts: 282
Can I jump in here w/a question, please? My 2k12 Jayco SLX 184 BH has a side wall mounted factory AC. It's actually nothing more than a small apartment size window mounted model. The tech specs book on it reads that it's rated volts are 120, Amps- 10, requires standard 3 prong wall outlet, and Fuse size-15 amps.

I understand this to mean that the shore cord can be plugged into my garage standard plug w/adapter of course and the AC should run and perform w/out and problem or problem causing issues. Input/feedback please. Thanx
__________________

LBL 1206 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 03:49 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 82
I just installed a 30amp RV plug on the outside of my house to aleveate any problems. It just makes things easier. Now I just back in the driveway and hook up, just like at the camp ground. If I need the AC on while loading up, I don't have worry about popping breakers.
__________________

OffTheGround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 04:07 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Quahog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston
Posts: 2,531
That's definitely the way to do it.
__________________
Mike, Sue, Sissy and Little Man

2015 Ford F350 Lariat FX4 6.7 CC DRW
2015 Eagle Premier 351RSTS

Quahog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 11:07 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Idaho/Arizona
Posts: 5,303
At home we changed the 15 amp for a 20 amp. We only use it for the refrigerator, lights, and to keep the batteries charged. I go from 50 at the trailer to 30 to 20.
__________________
2011 Eagle 330RLTS with just about every option.
2017 Silverado 1500 4x4 5.3 with tow package.

I was born with nothing and I still have most of it left.
clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2012, 11:58 PM   #15
Member
 
cheetahflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 64
Thanks clutch. Not a bad idea. Just beef up the 15A to a 20A instead of running an all new 30A since no one is going to be living in it parked at home and running the AC or microwave. Would also help since there is a refrig and freezers "upstream" in the garage and I could still run TT refrigerator, lights and keep batteries charged w/o the hassle and expense of running a new 30A outlet. And after widening the driveway for the TT parking area (on existing driveway now making it cramped parking) I would need an extension cord.
__________________
Cheetahflip
2010 Jayco Jay Feather 23k
2004 F150 Lariat SCrew 4x4 5.4L 3.73
Reese Strait Line Trunnion Dual Cam WD
Tekonsha P3
cheetahflip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 07:14 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Central Ohio
Posts: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheetahflip View Post
Thanks clutch. Not a bad idea. Just beef up the 15A to a 20A instead of running an all new 30A since no one is going to be living in it parked at home and running the AC or microwave. Would also help since there is a refrig and freezers "upstream" in the garage and I could still run TT refrigerator, lights and keep batteries charged w/o the hassle and expense of running a new 30A outlet. And after widening the driveway for the TT parking area (on existing driveway now making it cramped parking) I would need an extension cord.
Well, you still may be running all new wire. You can't just swap out a 15 amp breaker and outlet. If you don't have 12 ga wire already running there, do NOT install a 20 amp breaker on this circuit. You run a far greater risk than just popping a breaker.

I don't mean to come across as harsh, but just don't want to see anyone lose their home or worse trying to do something that isn't right or safe.
jwstewar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:55 AM   #17
Member
 
cheetahflip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 64
Thanks for the concern jw. It's already 12-2 Romex. If I drop in a 30A outlet just for the TT I'll be running the 10ga. I just hate running new wires etc, messing with electrical in my house. My house is a 1971 and Crazy Bob and his assistant Twitchy Willie did the wiring over the years. I throw a breaker in the box and I lose power to at least 1 item in every room. Like they just grabbed the closest hot wire and said this will work. Looked at 10ga today and it's running approx $2 a ft. plus the price of new breaker,box,outlet etc.
__________________
Cheetahflip
2010 Jayco Jay Feather 23k
2004 F150 Lariat SCrew 4x4 5.4L 3.73
Reese Strait Line Trunnion Dual Cam WD
Tekonsha P3
cheetahflip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 01:31 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Central Ohio
Posts: 216
Sounds good.

When I built my barn in '05 I installed 100 A service to it. All of my electrical circuits are 20 A except for the light, there are 4 15 A lighting only circuits. I then also ran a 30 A circuit for a camper. Wife asked why since we didn't have a camper at the time. I said, because you never know. 2 years later we bought our first camper. 2 years later, we sold it and bought the Jayco. I now sometimes wonder if I shouldn't have put a 50 A outlet there as well.:hihi: I have the box, outlet, and weather proof cover for it as I had it hooked up when we lived in my cousin's fiver for about a month when our house burnt.
jwstewar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 02:37 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Seann45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sask Canada
Posts: 9,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by LBL 1206 View Post
Can I jump in here w/a question, please? My 2k12 Jayco SLX 184 BH has a side wall mounted factory AC. It's actually nothing more than a small apartment size window mounted model. The tech specs book on it reads that it's rated volts are 120, Amps- 10, requires standard 3 prong wall outlet, and Fuse size-15 amps.

I understand this to mean that the shore cord can be plugged into my garage standard plug w/adapter of course and the AC should run and perform w/out and problem or problem causing issues. Input/feedback please. Thanx
That is only if you run NOTHING else... but since your converter is always on... and I bet your fridge is too... you will be popping a breaker or worse doing a brownout on the A/C unit...
__________________
Seann
2004 Chev Silverado Duramax optioned past the max. 2009 Jayco Eagle 308 RLS 765 watts of solar, 6-6 volt batteries (696 amp hour), 2000 watt (4000 surge) whole house inverter.
175 days boondocking in 2017
215/2016, 211/2015, 196/14, 247/13, 193/12

Seann45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 08:20 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Terry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 4,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seann45 View Post
That is only if you run NOTHING else... but since your converter is always on... and I bet your fridge is too... you will be popping a breaker or worse doing a brownout on the A/C unit...
Agreed...your converter with the battery charging and the lights on can easily pull 10 amps. Now - having said that...I have a generator that puts out 2200 watts. If I want to run my AC with the generator I turn off all the breakers expect the AC and it does great. BUT - you have to really be careful and be willing to take the risk of "running on the edge". If you do not have a complete understanding of power, voltage drops, wire sizes, amperage, etc then I would not try to run the A/C -- not worth the risk.
__________________

__________________
Terry
2009 Jayco 26BH
2004 Chevy Silverado 1500
2009 JayFlight Manual Library

Want to add a signature to your posts? --> Click Here
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.