Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-06-2012, 11:21 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Idaho/Arizona
Posts: 5,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwstewar View Post
Well, you still may be running all new wire. You can't just swap out a 15 amp breaker and outlet. If you don't have 12 ga wire already running there, do NOT install a 20 amp breaker on this circuit. You run a far greater risk than just popping a breaker.
Our trailer is plugged into the shop and the shop has 10 ga wire. Only three plugins are on that circuit and only the trailer is ever plugged in. The others are rarely used. All circuits in my shop are 10 ga wire and 20 amp breakers.

I would really hesitate to plug the trailer into the house as they are all 15 amp and 12 ga wire.
__________________

__________________
2011 Eagle 330RLTS with just about every option.
2017 Silverado 1500 4x4 5.3 with tow package.

I was born with nothing and I still have most of it left.
clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 06:49 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 82
I know it's probably overkill what I have done by installing the 30amp setup, but look at all the debate regarding wire gauge, breaker size, only having certain things running at once etc. My motto is do it right the first time. (at least I try to follow it) It is highly likely that at some point in time while in the driveway that the wife or whom ever will be in my unit and start flipping on stuff and the AC will be running. This saves me having to explain why certain things can run and certain things can not and running inside to rests blown breaker. Also, with young kids, there might be times where we might do some driveway sleep overs and I want to be fully operational. If you got it, might as well use it. It's the little things in life that make things easier sometimes.
__________________

OffTheGround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 07:20 AM   #23
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by OffTheGround View Post
I know it's probably overkill what I have done by installing the 30amp setup, but look at all the debate regarding wire gauge, breaker size, only having certain things running at once etc. My motto is do it right the first time. (at least I try to follow it) It is highly likely that at some point in time while in the driveway that the wife or whom ever will be in my unit and start flipping on stuff and the AC will be running. This saves me having to explain why certain things can run and certain things can not and running inside to rests blown breaker. Also, with young kids, there might be times where we might do some driveway sleep overs and I want to be fully operational. If you got it, might as well use it. It's the little things in life that make things easier sometimes.
Not overkill, I`d like to have that setup myself someday. A separate hook up to my septic tank would be nice as well. Oh well, someday.
__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 09:31 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 82
Funny thing you bring up the septic hookup because I am currently plotting that out as well. Nothing worst then not being able to find a dump site on a Sunday night after boondocking for the weekend.
OffTheGround is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 04:03 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Terry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 4,923
Not overkill if you are running the wire anyway! I have a 30 amp to mine and it is a really nice hiding spot sometimes in the summer when you crank down the AC. Unfortunately I think the wife and kids have learned my secret
__________________
Terry
2009 Jayco 26BH
2004 Chevy Silverado 1500
2009 JayFlight Manual Library

Want to add a signature to your posts? --> Click Here
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 06:37 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orange County, N.Y.
Posts: 631
Installing a seperate 30amp service for my TT was a great idea. This past summer we had a few unexpected house guests and the TT served us well. We were able to run our 15,000 btu ac and not worry about tripping breakers.
__________________
Joe, Joyce , 4 Kids and 3 Dogs.
2004 V-10 Excursion with Hellwig sway bar, Roadmaster Active Suspension, Bilstein shocks and steering stabilizer, Super Duty Tow Mirrors,
3.73 Gears, Reese dual cam, Prodigy brake controller.
2010 Jayco Jay Flight G-2 32 BHDS
usmc616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 06:25 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
edatlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maplesville, AL - Home Base
Posts: 2,524
Slides in my 5'er work off of 12 volt not 120 volt. That means the battery charger will come on to start recharging the batteries when you start moving the slides. Will that increase in load trip the home breaker? Depends on what else is on already on in the trailer.
__________________
Ed
KM4STL

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 10:21 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Idaho/Arizona
Posts: 5,303
Ed, that has not been a problem for us.
__________________

__________________
2011 Eagle 330RLTS with just about every option.
2017 Silverado 1500 4x4 5.3 with tow package.

I was born with nothing and I still have most of it left.
clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.