Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2021, 09:25 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Cheektowaga
Posts: 3
50 amp or 30 amp

Looking for help. Hoping someone can help me. I just purchase property which has power. I resently moved my 2015 jayco jay flight 32RLDS trailer on it. I need to know if my trailer is 30amp or 50amp. The shore power cable that came with the trailer has a 50 amp plug. Does that mean it is 50 amp or not? How can I confirm that the trailer can handle the power?
JamesDomin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2021, 11:03 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Rock Island
Posts: 882
50 amp or 30 amp

If it has a 50amp plug (4 prongs)in the side of the trailer and you have a 50 amp cord, it probably came wired for 50amp from the factory. 30 amp has 3 prongs on the plugs.

Do you have 2 air conditioners? If so you need the 50 amp wiring to run both at the same time.

My 5r is wired for 50, but I only have 1 air conditioner so I just use a 30 amp plug. It’s set up that way so I could add a 2nd A/C if I wanted to. Then I would use the 50amp cord.

So, your question, can it handle 50 amps?, here is a simplistic answer. Others can get into all kinds of details. Yes, if it came from the factory that way.
It’s kinda like asking if a truck can handle a V8 power. If it came from the factory, yes, but you also need to push on the gas to use that power.
In your RV you can handle 50 amps but that means you need to turn on both A/Cs and the microwave and the tv and refer and a coffee maker all at the same time, push the gas pedal on everything electrical. You’ll find out how much it can handle when the breakers start tripping in your RV or where ever you get the power from like your house breaker box. The breakers are there to protect the wiring and your RV.

To confirm it’s wired for 50amps, look at the out side plug for 4 prongs, then open the electrical center breaker box and see if there is a big double 50 amp breaker and a bunch of smaller ones. If you got a 50amp you can turns lots of stuff on. It can handle the electrical stuff installed by the factory.
__________________
2017 Eagle 291RSTS
2017 Chevy Silverado Duramax 2500
GHen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2021, 11:15 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Cheektowaga
Posts: 3
I do believe there is a setup for a second ac unit in the bedroom. That is what it is label on the bedtoom ceiling as. Is there anyway to make sure that it is 30 or 50 amp?
JamesDomin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2021, 06:22 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
THE MEEKER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Western New York
Posts: 501
Hi James from “CheektaVegas”

30-amp service is more common in smaller RVs with fewer power-hungry appliances. For instance, you will typically find only single AC units in 30-amp service RVs. 30-amp RV plugs have a single 120-volt hot pin, a flat neutral, and a round ground pin. On the other hand, large RVs usually have 50-amp service to power their more lavish setups (double AC units, washer/dryers, electric fireplaces, residential refrigerators etc.).

Since it has a 50 amp plug on the RV, you have 50 amp. service
__________________
2015 Jayco Jayflight 27RLS
2012 Ford F-150
2001 Fleetwood Terry 28x
1996 Viking Pop-up
1979 Coleman 8 man cabin tent
1967 G.I Joe (hasbro) canvas pup tent
THE MEEKER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2021, 06:28 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Location: Cheektowaga
Posts: 3
I do have electric fireplace and also marking on ceiling in bedroom for that second ac unit. Should the breaker in trailer say 30 or 50 amp. That should tell me what i have...correct?
JamesDomin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2021, 06:48 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 124
Just check your main breaker on the electrical panel. What's the largest on there? That's the largest you need. as said before though if you plan on adding the second A/C maybe you should just go for 50AMP
Zenar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2021, 09:26 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Marine71-76's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 584
Google search pulled up the manual and it says 30 amp power cord.

https://usermanual.wiki/m/c7db557346...7dfe5b78ac.pdf
__________________
Dennis & Donna Dohme
2016 36FBTS Pinnacle
2008 F450
USMC Veterans (both of us)
Marine71-76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2021, 10:20 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 1,372
The trailer is pulling power. The question is do I need 50 amps of power or will 30 be sufficient. You can plug a 30 amp trailer into a 50 amp power source, your trailer just won't use all that power.

It's would be more cost effective at this point to have 50 amp installed in case you change trailers.
__________________
2017 JayFlight 21QB
2021 Ford F150 SCrew 3.5 Eco, 157”, 3.55, Tow Pkg
TaftCoach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2021, 10:52 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Mike-NM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Location: Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesDomin View Post
The shore power cable that came with the trailer has a 50 amp plug. Does that mean it is 50 amp or not? How can I confirm that the trailer can handle the power?
Probably does if it has a 50 amp plug. i would start with opening the breaker box and look to see if it has a 50-amp double-pole breaker or a 30-amp double - pole breaker. Should be listed right on the breaker 50 or 30.
__________________
2014 Jayco Precept UL 32'
1997 Four Winds Chateau Sport 23' (sold)
Mike-NM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2021, 11:52 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 616
50 amp panel

Here's a photo of our 50 amp panel. You can see the 50amp double breaker.

It's interesting to note that if you have 30 amp service, you have one 30 amp leg. Total available- 30 amps.

If you have 50 amp service, you have you have two 50 amp legs. Total available- 100 amps. That's more than 3 times as much available amperage as a 30.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2021-10-17 at 1.49.38 PM.jpg
Views:	42
Size:	157.1 KB
ID:	76416

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2021-10-17 at 1.49.22 PM.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	149.0 KB
ID:	76417
__________________
Ford F250, Crew, 6.2 Gas, 4X4, Short Bed, Companion Hitch
2019 Jayco 28.5 RSTS, MorRyde orbital
Cincinnati Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2021, 11:36 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Deerfield
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marine71-76 View Post
Google search pulled up the manual and it says 30 amp power cord.

https://usermanual.wiki/m/c7db557346...7dfe5b78ac.pdf

That manual is for the SLX, totally different unit.


According to RVUSA specs, 50-amp service was optional in the 2015 32RLDS. OP won't know for certain without checking power inlet or breaker panel.
Attached Thumbnails
Specs.jpg  
__________________
John & Donna
2018 Silverado LTZ, 3500HD, LB, CC, Duramax, SRW
2021 Jayco North Point 377 RLBH
JB13502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2021, 12:03 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Floresville
Posts: 12
Go 50 AMP

Just go 50 AMP….

My Redhawk is 30 amp, but I have 50 amp power to it… Just in case you upgrade later and 30 amp will run fine off of 50 amp service.
jmcgarvey36b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2021, 01:16 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Howardwick
Posts: 586
There is a difference...30 amp: NEMA TT-30R Outdoor Electrical Receptacle Panel, 30 Amp RV Receptacle for RV Camper Travel Trailer motorhome and 50 amp: NEMA 14-50R Receptacle Panel, For RV Camper Travel Trailer Motorhome
__________________
Eric & D.Ann Riddle
2018 Nissan Titan CC SV rwd
2018 Jayco Jayfeather 23RL
kblast523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2021, 02:19 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Memphis
Posts: 297
50a= 4-wire plug= 2x 120vac x50a circuits= 12,000-watts; (6,000-per)
50a panel inside RV will have a pair of 50a circuit breakers connected together w/ tie bar.
30a= 3-wire, 120vac x 1-circuits x30a= 3,600-watts
thenne1713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2021, 08:14 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wheatfield, New York
Posts: 991
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesDomin View Post
Looking for help. Hoping someone can help me. I just purchase property which has power. I resently moved my 2015 jayco jay flight 32RLDS trailer on it. I need to know if my trailer is 30amp or 50amp. The shore power cable that came with the trailer has a 50 amp plug. Does that mean it is 50 amp or not? How can I confirm that the trailer can handle the power?
Assuming your trailer has the correct main breaker it can "handle" as much power as you want to give it. The trailer will simply use what it needs--the excess power doesn't go anywhere.

The problems start when there is not enough power; that's when things start functioning poorly and breakers start popping.
__________________
2009 Jayco Jay Feather 17C 130W Solar, 2021 F150 2.7L Eco Boost, 2021 Toyota Highlander
Isaacs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2021, 08:44 AM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: La Vernia
Posts: 9
I have a 30 amp trailer but installed a 50 service pedestal at home just in case I upgrade the trailer some day which is highly probable. The extra cost is worth the option.
Jaimster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 12:05 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Memphis
Posts: 297
MIKE-NM, 30a is ONLY 3-wire, HOT, Neutral and Ground, and power panel 30a breaker is SINGLE POLE, NOT DOUBLE. ONLY the 50a has double-pole, which 98% uses as two x 120v circuits, (very few use 240vac devices?)
thenne1713 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 06:18 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: laprairie
Posts: 67
has many says on that thread, look on the receptacle on the side of your trailer, what's wire will fit on there, look on your inside circuit board, the main breaker,should be listed 50 amp.
also if you have access by your storage to your converter, you can see how many wire are tied to your converter.
__________________
pierre charron / Christine Poulin



2018 jayco ht eagle 30.5 mlok
chevrolet Silverado 3500 gas dually wheel 2011
pc35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 06:30 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Howardwick
Posts: 586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isaacs View Post
The problems start when there is not enough power; that's when things start functioning poorly and breakers start popping.
About two years ago I began carrying a 50amp male/30amp female 'dogbone' and just using the 50amp plug on the stand. Did this after blowing a/c breaker in 100 degree heat in a crowded campground. Hasn't been a problem since.
__________________
Eric & D.Ann Riddle
2018 Nissan Titan CC SV rwd
2018 Jayco Jayfeather 23RL
kblast523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2021, 06:38 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
TWP723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Abingdon
Posts: 5,059
I thought all Jay Flights were 30amp from the factory except maybe the Bungalows. If you add another AC, you'll need to convert to 50amp. But it sounds like the previous owner has upgraded it to 50amp. If it plugs into the side of the trailer, it has 50amp. Trailer will either be a 3 prong or 4 prong. 3 being 30 and 4 being 50.
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 328 RLTS
2021 Keystone Montana 3121RL
2013 F350 6.7L 4x4 CCLB
W/Air Lift air bags (front & rear)
Equal-I-Zer™ WDH & B&W Companion
TWP723 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.