Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2014, 12:07 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Tail_gunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: da U.P.
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulx213 View Post
----I believe the 50 amp service is used on large trailers with two AC units. It's the only thing you might have that would draw that much power.
While true trailers with dual AC units have 50 amp service, I may have learned the hard way in the past that the combined load of refer, water heater, power converter, microwave and AC unit is way too much for a 30 amp service.

According to my Jayco owners manual:
AC: 18 amps
Water heater: 12 amps
Refer: 6 amps
Power Conv: 8 amps
Microwave: 12 amps
Total load: 56 amps

Now I'm not saying I had all these things going at the same time. But it gives an idea how quickly a few of the common things can add up to almost double the limit of a 30 amp service.

Anytime I plan on using my single AC in the future, I'm going to use 50 amp service if available. If not, AT LEAST the water heater is going to get switched to gas.
__________________

__________________
Kent
FAA licensed A&P aircraft mechanic, ex-RV dealer parts dept
Retired B-52 Gunner/Flight Examiner, B-52 Crew Chief

2016 Jayco Eagle HT 29.5 FBDS w/ 15,000 BTU AC, 50 amp service, upgraded counter top, thermal pane windows, elec. stab jacks, outside grill, backup camera and MORryde pin box.
2011 GMC 2500HD DURAMAX/ ALLISON
Tail_gunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 09:45 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Renton
Posts: 516
Yes @Tail_gunner however as I mentioned above plugging your 30 AMP RV into a 50 amp adapter this will give you 50 AMPs @ 120VAC at the pole however won't help because your main circuit breaker in the RV is only 30AMPs. I have found that using an "autoformer" helps a lot. Frequently RV park pedestals have low voltage, for example 30 AMPS @ 125VAC produces 3750 Watts (for this calculation I am assuming a power factor of 1 for you engineers out there) if the voltage drops to only 100 VAC you only get 3000 WATTS a drop of 750 watts! If the voltage drops to only 90VAC you can only draw 2700 watts. An autoformer automatically increases (or decreases) within its limits the voltage to a preset point. I have been successful at running my AC unit and another appliance at the same time even when other people in the same park were having problems due to low input voltage. This is especially true when the AC cycles on causing a voltage sag.
__________________

__________________
Michael
Old setup:
2004 Chevrolet Silverado 3500 LT with a 2004 Jayco JayFlight 29BHS
2014 Greyhawk 31FS with a 2007 Tahoe toad
New setup:
2014 Thor Palazzo 33.3 with a 2007 Tahoe toad
msturtz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 08:03 PM   #13
Lost in the Woods
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: N/A
Posts: 567
Burn lots of propane.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tail_gunner View Post
While true trailers with dual AC units have 50 amp service, I may have learned the hard way in the past that the combined load of refer, water heater, power converter, microwave and AC unit is way too much for a 30 amp service.

According to my Jayco owners manual:
AC: 18 amps
Water heater: 12 amps
Refer: 6 amps
Power Conv: 8 amps
Microwave: 12 amps
Total load: 56 amps

Now I'm not saying I had all these things going at the same time. But it gives an idea how quickly a few of the common things can add up to almost double the limit of a 30 amp service.

Anytime I plan on using my single AC in the future, I'm going to use 50 amp service if available. If not, AT LEAST the water heater is going to get switched to gas.
I had the same idea of switching my hot water heater to the gas setting on a recent trip to the Keys since our A/C was working overtime. Three of us went through a 30 lbs propane tank in one week due to setting the hot water to gas.
wwsmith111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 08:53 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Utah
Posts: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by wwsmith111 View Post
I had the same idea of switching my hot water heater to the gas setting on a recent trip to the Keys since our A/C was working overtime. Three of us went through a 30 lbs propane tank in one week due to setting the hot water to gas.
Do you just leave it on, or turn it on/off based on need? Our 20 lb propane lasted for 23 nights running the fridge, furnace(all but 3), and water heater.
__________________
2014 Ram 2500 Mega Cab Laramie 4x4 6.4L HEMI 4.10s with antispin
2014 Jayco Jay Flight Swift 287BHBE
Equal-i-zer 90-00-1200(new 90-02-4900 shank)
2x Honda 2K
NewBlackDak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 11:52 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: South Texas
Posts: 4,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by NewBlackDak View Post
Do you just leave it on, or turn it on/off based on need? Our 20 lb propane lasted for 23 nights running the fridge, furnace(all but 3), and water heater.
+1
floating a 30 lb tank seems like a lot of propane for just the water heater...
__________________

__________________


2014 Jay Flight 28 BHBE
2015 RAM 2500 6.4L HEMI, Tradesman 4x4, 3.73
Blue Ox SwayPro (BXW 1503)

Upgraded from an REI internal frame backpack and a Eureka 1/2 dome tent!
Camper_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.