Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2015, 05:14 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 54
A/c 26bhs?

Picking up my new 26BHS on Wednesday and getting the training but I have a question. When I take the trailer home and plug it into my home power which is a standard plug and 20amp I think? will I be able to run the AC off it? Someone said I would damage the AC because it needs 30 amps but that sounds wrong to me because I hear lots of people saying they run AC when they are running two honda 2000 gens and that would max out at around 26 amps.

Also how long would it take to re charge the batteries if you ran just one honda 2000?

Thanks
__________________

1973nader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 05:37 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Mid-Mi
Posts: 1,457
Congrats on the new rig!

We have run our 15k a/c on a 20amp outlet. Just don't try running the microwave also and chances are you will be ok.

Not sure on the generator.
__________________

__________________
Bubba J- '13 Chevy Silverado 2500HD LT CCSB 4x4 6.0

'16 Jay Flight 32 BHDS ELITE 32 BHDS MODS Reese DC HP

WDH SET UP. HOW A WDH WORKS. CAT SCALE HOW TO.
need-a-vacation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 05:44 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
pawpaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 308
As need-a-vacation said, you'll be fine as long as you don't run anything else. I also run the 15K A/C on my TT at home without any problems. Our 15K draws about 16 amps while running.

As far as charging the batteries, the charge time depends on how low the battery got.
__________________

2014 GMC Sierra 4x4 crew cab with 6.2L and max tow package
2015 Starcraft Autumn Ridge 329BHU
2015 Starcraft AR-One 18QB
2014 JayFlight Swift 264BH - SOLD!
2013 Skyline Bobcat 162B - SOLD!
Cypress, TX
pawpaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 08:07 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 54
Thanks guys much appreciated
1973nader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 09:59 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Skaling's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Langley (Vancouver)
Posts: 397
Fyi, a standard plug is only 15 amp and will NOT be able to handle the AC.. You will ruin your AC unit.. 20 amp plugs look a bit different.
Attached Thumbnails
image.jpg  
__________________
TT: 2015 Jayco Jayflight 26BH Elite
TV: 2014 Ram 1500 Sport, 5.7 HEMI 3.21, Firestone 1000# air suspension. WD hitch w/800# bars
SOLD: 2012 Jayco J-series 1007
Skaling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 10:08 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 54
Thanks I will make sure he puts in 20 amp breaker and wire so I don't run into issues.
1973nader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 10:21 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
SmokerBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PNW
Posts: 2,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1973nader View Post
Thanks I will make sure he puts in 20 amp breaker and wire so I don't run into issues.
If somebody's putting in the breaker and wiring, why not just have an RV 30amp outlet installed? Then you'd be set for sure.
__________________
Bill
2011 Dodge Ram 1500 HEMI Quad Cab
2011 Jay Flight 26BH
SmokerBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 10:26 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 54
That's what I decided to do so I don't have any issues. Thanks
1973nader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 10:39 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
SmokerBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PNW
Posts: 2,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1973nader View Post
That's what I decided to do so I don't have any issues. Thanks
Ya, I think that would be the best thing to do. I'd just make sure that the person putting in the electric know that RV 30 amp service is 120VAC, and not 240VAC (like an electric dryer outlet).
__________________
Bill
2011 Dodge Ram 1500 HEMI Quad Cab
2011 Jay Flight 26BH
SmokerBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2015, 06:17 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orange County, N.Y.
Posts: 631
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1973nader View Post
That's what I decided to do so I don't have any issues. Thanks
It has happened more than once before. Ensure the electrician understands the TT uses 120v not 240v and show him the TT's plug. There are several threads that talk about how the electrician installed the outlet upside down.
__________________

__________________
Joe, Joyce , 4 Kids and 3 Dogs.
2004 V-10 Excursion with Hellwig sway bar, Roadmaster Active Suspension, Bilstein shocks and steering stabilizer, Super Duty Tow Mirrors,
3.73 Gears, Reese dual cam, Prodigy brake controller.
2010 Jayco Jay Flight G-2 32 BHDS
usmc616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.