Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2012, 12:57 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
Unhappy A/C Generator Blues

I recently purchased 2012 jay flight swift 264BH. I have used the AC in 30 amp shorepower sites twice. No Problem. Recently purchase pair of new Honda 2000i 's, set up ran in parallel, full power, eco off, no other acessories on, AC off. Gennies kick off upon AC start up. No problem when starting micowave and other accesories.
Is is possible that the 13,500 btu airxcel unit is drawing more than amps then necessary on start up. I had other individuals at the site start similar size units with less than the 4000 output. I had several people look at the start up process and could not figure out why the kick off with no accessories on at start up.

Everthing I was told is that the dual Honda's should provide plenty of power for the start up.

Should I have the dealer measure the out put? AC installation problem cause unusual surge?

I am new to TT world, but had larger boats in the past with similar set ups.

First things first, but I also could not operate the Norcold fridge on auto during the tow process. Only operated on gas at the site. Need opinions and seasoned guidance, another 100 degree day coming up.

Thanks,

Bob
__________________

bjohnst0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 04:55 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
2edgesword's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 284
http://www.hayesequipment.com/honda_...tage_guide.htm

According to above website I a 13,500 btu ac unit would require about 2,750 watts for start-up and 1,250 watts to run. Your generator set-up should be putting out more than enough juice to get the unit running. The 30 amp shore power would be putting out about 3,600 watts (P=I x E) and did start/run the unit. That would lead me to believe that the problem is with one or both of the generators or something amiss with the parallel hook-up.
__________________

2edgesword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 06:26 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
TX_Arvee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pearland, TX
Posts: 514
Are you using the parallel cables simply hooked together and plugged into the Eu2000's recepticle or do you have a RV power kit for them?
If you simply are running with the parallel cables and plugged into the 115v outlet on one of the gens, then that is your problem.

The recepticles on the EU2000 is a 20amp 125v rated, this limits you to 20amps when plugged into one of these.
I see camping worlds "RV Kit" is simply the cables and a 30amp RV adapter for the onboard outlet. Not good.

You need this: http://www.northerntool.com/shop/too...3654_200333654
If you have this RV kit and it wont run your rig, then something is wrong with one of your Hondas.

•Parallel cords allow the user to obtain the full power of both units, limited by the capacity of an individual outlet. Parallel cords are available for the EU1000i, EU2000i, EU3000 Handi, and EU3000i.


•If you have 2 regular EU2000i, 2 EU3000 Handi, or 2 EU3000is, consider a parallel kit. The parallel kits include a built in 30A outlet (EU2000) or 50A outlet (EU3000), which is capable of providing the combined full power from both generators. Although the kit is more expensive than the parallel cords, it offers you more power from a single outlet.

•If you have a regular EU2000i and the Companion model, you only need a parallel cord. You will be able to use the 30A outlet on the Companion to draw the full combined power of the two units.

from Honda's site: http://powerequipment.honda.com/Cont...n-parallel.jpg

So with this, I am assuming you have 2 - EU2000i gensets and not a 2000i and a companion model. (http://powerequipment.honda.com/gene...000i-companion)
So you need a 30amp kit to fully use your gensets output.

Until getting this info I was unaware Honda made a companion model...
TX_Arvee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:49 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 14
Hi, thanks for the info on the amps. I have the Honda parallel cords. See pix, Wise the gen dealer says hookup correct. Supposed they have not trouble with the Honda's. They are the biggest seller in the US.

I will keep you informed of what develops.

BobClick image for larger version

Name:	Honda Gen 001.jpg
Views:	82
Size:	44.3 KB
ID:	4599Click image for larger version

Name:	Honda Gen.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	49.8 KB
ID:	4600
bjohnst0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 02:11 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
TX_Arvee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pearland, TX
Posts: 514
Interesting, as you should get a full 30amps from that set up. There is no way your unit is pulling 30 amps.
If you have acces to a power monitor like this http://www.campingworld.com/shopping...FcHPKgodZGBLFw
It will tell you what you are drawing from the circuit and if you watch it can tell the load when it trips.

I am really curious why this is happening, my Honda's have been work horses without fail.
TX_Arvee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 03:03 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Plugging a 30 amp adapter into a 15 amp outlet does not net you 30 amp service. While the parallel set can deliver 4000 watts it's getting choked at the 15 amp outlet on the generator. If I was you I'd try to return the parallel setup to whom ever told you this would work. Never go back there again, Order the stuff from Northern Tool as shown above.

Link to Honda's parallel link set up. Note it says max 15 amp output.
Hboy96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 03:34 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
wjfawb0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: McDonald
Posts: 18
I use two Yamaha 2000 inverter generators in parallel to run my X17Z trailer when I need AC. I can start the 13,500BTU AC unit fine with both in parallel, but if I try to run the microwave at the same time it will usually trip one of the generators. With your larger trailer, maybe you have something else drawing load that is putting your set over the edge? I wish I had bought a larger single unit some times, but it's nice in cooler weather to only run one for the fan and other electrics.
__________________
2010 X17Z behind 2010 F150 supercab
wjfawb0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 03:55 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
TX_Arvee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pearland, TX
Posts: 514
Hboy96, he has a companion model as well as a standard model, see his pic. and my link to Honda. It has a 30amp outlet built in that is active when teamed with a standard EU2000i in parallel. 26.6 amps is what it is supposed to be able to handle. (no need for the kit). The adapter they show on the website and in his pic is a twistlock to RV plug. I dont know why he is tripping the Genset, it should work.

If he would have shown he had two standard models I would agree with you.
TX_Arvee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 07:45 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 7
Your right, looked to be an adapter plugged into the outlet at first glance. Good call!
Hboy96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 08:48 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 455
Your setup should easily power your a/c unit as I use my honda 3k genset to run my 13.5k btu unit. I recently upgraded my starting capacitor to a Supco compressor hard start kit to ease the starting process, you might consider looking under your shroud to see if you camper came with one installed at the factory. Sometimes a/c units don't have them and if you don't I would definitely add one.
__________________

__________________
1998 Jayco Eagle 302FK (Honda EU3000is)
2016 GMC Sierra Denali 3500HD 4x4 Duramax/Allison
2003 Honda Aquatrax F-12X Turbo
dmax_83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.