Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2019, 11:55 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Austin
Posts: 8
AC not coming on

I am new to forums, but have searched many relating to our issue. Have new thermostat in Jayco Jayflight 26RLS. It was working great. Moved camper a couple of times and now no fan-nothing. We read and tried everything suggested: bypassed thermo - nothing; tested fuses and breakers-nothing; looked for reset switch on furnace-no switch. Husband has been up top and everything seems fine. Had AC guy out before replacing thermo and all was good with unit. Thermostat wasn't making good connection so we replaced with the same Coleman Mach just has a digital readout for temp. All wires matched and it was working. Can't seem to find any loose wires.
__________________

BarbK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 06:26 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Connellsville
Posts: 12,244
Since you have already tried bypassing the thermostat, this may be of no help. But have you tried reinstalling the old thermostat to see if that makes a difference?
__________________

__________________
2017 Jay Feather 7 22BHM Baja
2018 F150 4x4 3.5L Ecoboost Max Tow
2015 MB Sprinter 2500 Passenger 2.1L Diesel
2007 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins 5.9L G56
Andersen WD

Midnightmoon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 08:06 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Austin
Posts: 8
Thank you, yes we did that also. Iíve spent hours searching. I know it must be simple, but itís frustrating. Our AC guy thinks it is probably something on the low voltage side, but....
BarbK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 08:29 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Kingman
Posts: 316
Do you have 30 or 50 amp service? Is your microwave working? The thermostat should be set to ďCoolĒ and ďAutoĒ, then set the temp lower than the Room temp. If you move the fan switch to Hi, does the AC fan come on? The reset switch on the furnace has nothing to do with the AC.
Route 66 Traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 08:29 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Iraqvet05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,574
Do you have 12v DC voltage at the thermostat?
__________________
2018 28BHBE
2017 Ford F250 XLT, 6.2 gasser
2013 26BH (traded)
Iraqvet05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 08:46 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Austin
Posts: 8
We have 30 amp. Micro is working. Basically everything else is working. We had put to auto and cool and set well below the outside temp of 100!! I went out to work in the camper and it was 99! Fan wonít come on. Only the LED readout is working. I searched for a furnace reset switch based on another post from someone with same issue. Our furnace doesnít have a switch anywhere that I can find. We have checked and rechecked and tested. Bypassed thermostat to make sure new one hadnít gone out, but fan still didnít come on. We had 12v to thermo, and guessing still do. New thermostat was hooked up exactly like old and it was working fine.
BarbK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 10:51 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
JimD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Inland Empire, California
Posts: 272
A little confused here. You stated the AC won't turn on but yet you were looking for a furnace reset switch. The furnace is totally separate from your air conditioner. Nothing you do to the furnace will affect the AC.

I have attached the wiring of a typical thermostat. The way these things work is to connect 12 volts to different control lines to turn on the AC or furnace. Never both at the same time.

To jumper the thermostat you would connect the 12 volt + line to the "heat" wire to turn on the furnace. To turn on the AC you would connect the 12 volts + to the compressor line. You could turn the fan on by itself by doing the same thing to your fan control line. These tests bypass the thermostat temp setting so you don't have to worry about being above or below set temps.

It sounds like you have the required 12 volts since you stated the thing lights up. If the furnace turns on but the AC doesn't, there could be a problem with the 120 volt feed to the AC assembly or with the AC itself.

Reset the circuit breakers for the AC even if they don't look tripped. If that doesn't help you will probably require a pro to take measurements up in the AC unless you feel comfortable using a voltmeter with 120 volts, which can be dangerous if you aren't careful.

Another test may be to listen up at the AC while someone bypasses the thermostat or just turning it to cool. You may hear a relay click and if you do it means the thermostat signal is getting to the AC. I can't guarantee you will hear a relay but it is worth a shot.

Anyway, if you are up in the AC unit (not on the roof side) there probably is access to the control board and wire inputs, both 120 volt and thermostat signal. A voltmeter can indicate what is missing.
Attached Thumbnails
Capture.JPG  
__________________
Jim

Retired electronic technician (45 years in the field)
2017 Greyhawk 29W
solar & many other mods
wife (maybe I should have given her top billing)
JimD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 12:05 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Austin
Posts: 8
Thanks, I’ll give this info to my husband. The ONLY reason I was looking for a furnace reset switch is because someone else had this issue, and their furnace had to be reset before their ac wd work. Obviously he had a diff set up from us. However, I was desperate to try most anything! I appreciate the help.
__________________
2011 Jayflight 26RLS
BarbK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 01:34 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Seann45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sask Canada
Posts: 10,368
There is a little switch on top of the furnace (or somewhere on the furnace) and if it gets bumped it will shut off all power to the heating/cooling units..
Did you check and see if the furnace runs?
__________________
Seann
2004 Chev Silverado Duramax optioned past the max. 2009 Jayco Eagle 308 RLS 765 watts of solar, 6-6 volt batteries (696 amp hour), 2000 watt (4000 surge) whole house inverter.
96 days boondocking in2019219/2018 206/17,215/2016, 211/2015, 196/14, 247/13, 193/12

Seann45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2019, 02:11 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Austin
Posts: 8
I had read that in another post. I found the furnace and looked all around it, but no switch! We haven’t bypassed to ck the furnace yet, but will when we have a chance. We ckd the fan side and it didn’t come on. We also need to ck the ac compressor side. The fan does turn fine, it just seems the signal isn’t getting to the thermostat to signal the components. I appreciate all the responses.
I shd clarify the fan turns when we spin by hand.
__________________
2011 Jayflight 26RLS
BarbK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2019, 04:52 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Austin
Posts: 8
Found the switch on furnace (I blame old eyes for not seeing it earlier)! Flipped it a couple of times and still no go.
__________________
2011 Jayflight 26RLS
BarbK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 10:44 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Austin
Posts: 8
Found the prob

Finally found the prob. Neg wire on 12v had corrosion we didnít see. Got it cleaned and things are working. Geeze!! Thrilled it was that simple.
BarbK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 12:26 PM   #13
Site Team
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark
Posts: 3,103
Good job finding the problem. It's nice when you can find a simple fix.
__________________
2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab
1 Spoiled Dog
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 04:16 PM   #14
Site Team
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Connellsville
Posts: 12,244
Excellent. I'm happy it is working for you.
__________________
2017 Jay Feather 7 22BHM Baja
2018 F150 4x4 3.5L Ecoboost Max Tow
2015 MB Sprinter 2500 Passenger 2.1L Diesel
2007 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins 5.9L G56
Andersen WD

Midnightmoon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2019, 07:57 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Austin
Posts: 8
Thanks everyone. So nice to have a community of help and knowledge.
__________________

__________________
2011 Jayflight 26RLS
BarbK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×