Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2019, 08:36 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Genoa
Posts: 4
AC stops working

We can have AC on and after a while it stops working. If you cycle thru the thermostat it starts back up just fine. 2018 242bhs.
Thanks.
Geoff
__________________

Kb9yei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 08:45 PM   #2
Site Team
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark
Posts: 3,803
Ours will shut down when it reaches the set temp on the t-stat, then starts backup when the temps rise and the t-stat calls for it.
__________________

__________________
2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab
1 Spoiled Dog
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 08:50 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Genoa
Posts: 4
I understand that part, but it will get 10-15 degrees warmer and not start again until thermostat is turned off and back on again.
Kb9yei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 09:12 PM   #4
Site Team
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark
Posts: 3,803
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kb9yei View Post
I understand that part, but it will get 10-15 degrees warmer and not start again until thermostat is turned off and back on again.
Is this problem with the t-stat on "auto" or "run", or both settings?
__________________
2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab
1 Spoiled Dog
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 09:14 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Genoa
Posts: 4
It is with it set to "auto" I figured it would work the same way as a home thermostat. This is my first travel trailer.
Kb9yei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 09:22 PM   #6
Site Team
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark
Posts: 3,803
Try setting it to "run" and see if it does the same thing. Is your t-stat digital, or a manual slide type like the Coleman brand?

I'd take the t-stat off the wall, and check for a loose connection first.

Either the T-stat's not sending a signal to the compressor relay, or maybe the relay itself went south.

Here's a generis Coleman manual on t-stats.
https://www.cleggind.com/postal_tech/...376%5B1%5D.pdf
__________________
2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab
1 Spoiled Dog
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 09:29 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Genoa
Posts: 4
It is digital and very touchy. You can shut pantry door on wall attached to it and change its mode.

https://www.dometic.com/en-us/us/pro...ostat-_-164511

Looks like this but blue
Kb9yei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2019, 09:52 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
RetiredOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ocean County
Posts: 1,172
Quote:
Originally Posted by JFlightRisk View Post
Try setting it to "run" and see if it does the same thing. Is your t-stat digital, or a manual slide type like the Coleman brand?
That's what I'm wondering, does he have the analog, slide thermostat? Those have a WIDE temperature range before they trigger back on.

There was another thermostat people were having problems with too, something about foam or styrofoam in the case, making the thermostat not work correctly.
__________________
----------------

2019 Redhawk 24B

RetiredOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2019, 12:42 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 89
Sounds like a bad thermostat or a loose wire as someone else mentioned. We have 2 of those thermostats in one of our trailers and they are not touchy at all. They also seem to work pretty well as far as holding a reasonable temperature range.
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 324BTS
2018 Surveyor 265RLDS
2016 GMC 2500HD CrewCab SLT 4x4 Duramax
smithmdsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 09:10 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Tulare
Posts: 7
my 2019 245rlsw started doing this. have appt with dealer in a few weeks to get it checked out. when on auto and it reaches the set point it shuts off compressor and it wont come back on unless I turn off tstat and start over. on low and high cool it works just fine.
steevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 07:20 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
us71na's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: McKean, PA
Posts: 700
redo the initialization

On my Dometic Digital thermostat I have to redo the initialization steps whenever the power has been removed for a significant period of time. Your thermostat also has an initialization sequence according to the manufacturer's manual.
us71na is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2019, 04:29 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1
We are having similar issue in our new 2019 24rlsw. Air comes on, blows for a minute, then stops. Then couple min later, starts again. Annoying, especially since air is noisy. Taking to dealer for check unless you guys have advice.
TravelinTees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 10:58 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 36
My 2018 32BHDS with the Dometic CT single zone thermostat just started doing the same thing this last weekend. Set the AC on, fan on Auto, and it shuts off sometime in the middle of the night. Cycle it to off, back to on, and its back to normal.
LawnFlamingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 12:11 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Howardwick
Posts: 266
Stats

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kb9yei View Post
It is digital and very touchy. You can shut pantry door on wall attached to it and change its mode.

https://www.dometic.com/en-us/us/pro...ostat-_-164511

Looks like this but blue

I had the same thermostat on mine, all you had to do was come within about a foot of it and it changed setting, changed temp, changed mode or turned itself off, or any combination of above. I had a previous version
https://bigdaddysparts.com/Dometic-P...BoCBb0QAvD_BwE
so I hooked it up and it works so much better! When Pharrs RV replaced my cooling unit in January they noted the thermostat to be very touchy but not warrantable according to Jayco. Best of luck, it's either the thermostat or the control board, both under warranty if you have had it less than two years from new.
__________________
Eric & D.Ann Riddle
2018 Nissan Titan RWD SV
2018 jayco Jayfeather 23RL
kblast523 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2019, 01:28 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Tulare
Posts: 7
mine is still at the dealer with this same issue under warranty. will keep you updated once they figure it out.
__________________

steevo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×