Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2014, 04:07 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 17
Adding 2nd Air Unit

We have an Eagle 31' travel trailer and in the heat of the summer, the air does not seem to cool the entire trailer very well. It takes care of the front great, but not the back.

We are looking into adding a second unit. I spoke with Jayco service, and they install a Coleman 13500 BTU via cutting a hole in the roof. I am very leary of doing that for obvious reasons. Has anyone else on this forum had any luck adding a second unit? Is there a unit that goes where the vent hole already is?
__________________

Gmyoung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 04:14 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
I added one in ours but it was prepped for the second one. Ours is a FW don't know if TT are prepped, but anything can be done for the right $
__________________

05 duramax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 04:39 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,041
Who at JAYCO said they would cut another hole. Did you tell them you already had a vent in the back?

If you have a roof vent that is where it would probably go. The problem is usually getting the elec to the air con. Some people have used wire-mold up the wall and across the ceiling to get it there.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 05:48 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 17
I told them the model, which is a 314BDS. There is a vent hole, which is where my husband was going to install one. I've learned Coleman makes a pretty good one that operates like a window air unit,which means you control the unit directly with controls on the unit. Is that what you added?
Gmyoung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 07:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Upperco, Md.
Posts: 802
i just had one mounted in the bed room of our 31.5 RLTS fifth wheel. It was mounted in place of the roof vent. It has the controls on the unit. We just spent a week in a campground with 50 amp service and I spent a good bit of time playing with the unit to see how it would sync with the primary AC. Worked pretty good. The one thing that you need to keep in mind is that the fans on that unit run all the time when you have the unit turned on. The compressor will kick in and out as needed. It works very well to get initial heat out of your camper. I don't think that you'll want to try and run it all the time as the fans even on low speed would be annoying at night. We are very happy with it so far.
Ela1948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 08:01 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gmyoung View Post
I told them the model, which is a 314BDS. There is a vent hole, which is where my husband was going to install one. I've learned Coleman makes a pretty good one that operates like a window air unit,which means you control the unit directly with controls on the unit. Is that what you added?
Many units, especially the pop-ups and hybrids use that unit since they do not have ducted air-cond. I have installed both.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 09:09 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 973
Do you have 50amp service in the trailer? We have 2 ac units in our trailer and its wired for 50amp service. The real advantage is watching tv or a movie we can run the rear one and turn off the front one which makes the sound level much better in the living area.
__________________
No man has a good enough memory to be a successful liar. Abraham Lincoln

2016 36FBTS Pinnacle
2016 F350, 6.7, 4x4, DRW, long bed
B & W Companion 5th wheel Hitch
eldermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 12:18 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Idaho/Arizona
Posts: 5,303
I would think 50 amp service would be a necessity unless you run a separate service just for the new AC. Use a vent hole that is already there. I would not cut a hole in the roof for any reason.
__________________
2011 Eagle 330RLTS with just about every option.
2017 Silverado 1500 4x4 5.3 with tow package.

I was born with nothing and I still have most of it left.
clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 06:20 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 17
Thank you all for the advice! I agree....not wild about cutting a hole in the roof either!
Gmyoung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 09:46 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
cekkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Murrieta
Posts: 2,421
Looking at your trailer I'd say it has 30 amp service. If that is correct, you must take that into consideration.
__________________

__________________
'11 Eagle 320RLDS
'02 F350 PSD Dually 4WD
DW's Ride, '13 Expedition
cekkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.