Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-09-2021, 07:54 AM   #1

Any tips on de-winterizing a 145RB?

Hi there,

I'm more of a computer/tech support kind of guy, so RV'ing has been a real step out of my comfort zone as far as understanding the systems, etc. I'm getting ready to head out on the road again in a few weeks but am a bit apprehensive about de-winterizing my trailer (since I am new to this and just bought the trailer last year, I had a RV dealer winterize for me last October). I can always pay a dealer to de-winterize, I assume, but I'd rather learn to do it myself.

I'd love a few quick tips on how to de-winterize this particular trailer line if anyone is willing!

It seems like most of it is flushing the anti-freeze out of the lines in the right way. I can't find a video or instructions for my exact trailer though.

I get that there's a bypass valve that routes water away from the water heater. I think that's under the sink, if I am remembering correctly. Seems there might be a socket wrench required to put something back in (plug?) the water heater. Maybe the drains need to be closed (low point drain, water drain). Not sure if I need to use gravity fed water or city water for the flushing out of the antifreeze through the sink, toilet and shower.

Thanks for any help!

Chris
cmorris975 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2021, 11:37 AM   #2

I would watch a couple of you tubes on "how to de-winterize an RV".

what I do,
My water heater plug stays in as I added an electric heater element to mine.
I connect city water while leaving the winter settings that bypass my water heater. I then run a few gallons through each faucet, hot and cold, shower and flush toilet, all until well after pink is gone.