Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 11-16-2020, 09:09 PM   #1

Blowing out water lines for winterization

I have a small oil less compressor that I can set to 30-40 PSI or so and am interested in blowing the water out of my 25RB water lines for winterizing. We don't get many below freezing nights in my area. I will however pour some antifreeze down each drain.

My questions are as follows:

I hook the air compressor up to the special blow out fitting and connect it to the fresh water connection on the outside of the Trailer. To blow out the lines do I turn on the sink and then blow air? After the sink, do I turn on the shower, bathroom sink, outside shower and toilet individually or have them all open at once to blow their lines out?

Finally, how to I take care of the water heater? I'm new to this and need some really entry level instruction.

I thank all for your input!
Rodek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2020, 09:49 PM   #2

Blowiing out the lines is not to hard. There is no right or wrong way to do it as long as you get all the water out of the critical places.

I like to start by opening up my low point drains and all the faucets. This gets a lot of the water out of the system and not into my waste water tanks. I do this while I get my air compressor ready.

I also recommend running the water pump to purge any water out of that line. This is also a good time to remove the water pump inlet filter screen and clean it. Really the only way to get the water out of the filter screen housing.

If you have an onboard, inline water filter, might recommend removing the filter. When all done, open up the housing again and verify that it does not have a pool of water in the bottom of the housing.