Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-17-2017, 09:26 AM   #1

Bunk Bed Ladder?

Has anyone done a bunk bed ladder for their kiddos?
DevilCityAngel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 07:27 PM   #2

I used to be a carpenter. Unless you are somewhat skilled I would suggest purchasing one on Amazon or at Ikea. These are your kids and the lesson here is that the weakest part of your ladder is the most dangerous for them. The kids will bounce on it, jump on it, and maybe even more than one at a time will climb on it.

If you do want to do one there are plans on the internet for them along with all the cutting angles. But again, you need to have the tools to cut at the correct angle, multiple times.. I would suggest using one of the harder woods, pre-drill each hole, and for the steps, measure at least twice before you drill.
2019 Chevy express 2500 Van Coversion. 2017 Jayco 23MRB: 26' total and Glacier Package. 2 Renogy solar panels. Married 49 years. Haley the mutt, 4 years old. "Excited to learn new things everyday and humbled by those who offer to help." And very grateful to our Moderators!
travelingjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 08:25 PM   #3

First off, thank you!

I am pretty good at building furniture, etc and I have great tools. (I'm a Festool addict!). I just have to compare if it's worth it to spend the time and money to make one or just find something that works. However, if I make it, it will fit exactly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by travelingjw View Post
I used to be a carpenter. Unless you are somewhat skilled I would suggest purchasing one on Amazon or at Ikea. These are your kids and the lesson here is that the weakest part of your ladder is the most dangerous for them. The kids will bounce on it, jump on it, and maybe even more than one at a time will climb on it.