Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-15-2019, 12:38 PM   #1

Buying my first trailer

So I'm going to be buying my first rv I'm looking at the 175rd or the 195rb. It's just for my wife and I is there anything I should know before going to the dealership? Should I be looking at a bunk house for resale value or does it matter? I'm new to the whole idea of trailers but tired if the tent game so any info would be great. Thank you
Reeferluke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 01:00 PM   #2

Welcome to JOF!

My first question is what are you planning to tow the trailer with? The trailers you are looking at are smaller but will still need a mid-sized SUV or truck to tow them with.

If you have never towed a full walled trailer before, beware that it is a very different experience from normal day to day driving. Your gas mileage will be terrible. That's because of the wind resistance of the trailer. Expect between 9-11 mpg on average.

Buy what floor plan will suit you. Don't worry about bunkhouses or anything else that will not fit your needs.
DocBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 01:17 PM   #3

Check the wardrobe.. Its possible you do not need a full length closet but we do with paddling drysuits and long raincoats and laundry basket There is ample storage otherwise in both

Does your wife want a pantry? I find the 195 just right for food and cooking equipment storage

The big reason we got the 195 is that neither of us wants to climb over a body in the middle of the night for bathroom use.

You are not really buying a trailer. You are buying a relationship with a dealer. If something seems off in that department go elsewhere.

With these inexpensive trailers you won't lose a lot of money so resale value is to me insignificant.. We have some 300 nights now in ours so even if we get nothing its less than $50 a night.