Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2015, 10:01 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Wichita Falls
Posts: 38
can i run the A/C?

i have a 26BHS with the 15K BTU air conditioner.

can i run the A/C unit when i'm using my 30 Amp dogbone to connect the power cord to an extension cord which is plugged in to a standard power outlet in my garage?

i'm thinking the answer is "no" but just want to confirm this.
__________________

__________________
2015 Jay Flight 26BHS
2015 Chevy Silverado 2500HD Z71 Crew Cab 6.6L Duramax
sully585 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 10:16 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
nunyadamn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Gilbert
Posts: 487
Can and should are probably a better question. I have to do this when I am at my wife's families house and have never had a problem. A problem you might have is the extension cord. I use a large 30amp cord and then right at the plug it changes to the standard size. I am pretty sure I am on a 20amp outlet and really only using the AC.
__________________

__________________

2014 Jayco Jay Flight 32 BHDS
2015 Ford F-250 Lariat 6.7L Powerstroke 4x4
nunyadamn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 10:17 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central California
Posts: 2,243
I have a 20A circuit in my garage. Assuming nothing else is plugged in to that circuit and it's not an "extremely hot" day, 100*+, then yes I can run mine.
__________________
2007 Chevy Duramax LMM/Allison
2012 Jay Flight 29QBH
2012 Jay Flight 26BH (Sold)
clubhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 11:36 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
TexasRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Dickinson
Posts: 436
I've run my a/c numerous times off a 20a outlet at the house, never any problems.
I use, and would recommend no less than a 12ga extension cord.
__________________
2015 Pinnacle 36FBTS
2015 F250 SD Platinum 4x4 - 6.7L PSD :
Titan 50 Gal. Fuel Tank
Slotted and Dimpled Brake Rotors
Air Lift LoadLifter 5000 Ultimate Airbags with WirelessAIR Controller
TexasRT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 11:58 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: north az
Posts: 305
My tt is 30amp, and I have a 15k a/c, plus micro wave, tv, etc., never a problem. Everything else is dc.
arkhillbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 12:15 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,110
I have done it on a 20 amp breaker from our old house. I did have to run a long extension cord that really was undersize for the power pull and run length. Never had an issue, but I did not run the AC for extended periods. I did it just to cool for an hour or less while doing some work. I felt the cord adaptor and it was warm.
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 12:22 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,007
I also have run the A/C on a 20A circuit with no problems. I was able to use my shore power extension and the dog-bone to reach it so no "weed-eater" extension cord was needed.

I could not run the A/C from a 15A circuit.
__________________
Cheers,
T_

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 03:42 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Wichita Falls
Posts: 38
thanks for all the quick replies!

that is actually good news. now i have a man-cave that has working A/C!
__________________
2015 Jay Flight 26BHS
2015 Chevy Silverado 2500HD Z71 Crew Cab 6.6L Duramax
sully585 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2015, 04:02 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Scoutr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Bartonville
Posts: 509
The A/C draws no more than 17 amps at peak (when the compressor starts up), but the converter draws another 5-6 amps. I've done it, but I make sure I don't try to turn any other AC circuit on. If your battery is low and is being charged by the converter/charger, I wouldn't try to run the A/C. But that's just me.
__________________

Scoutr2 (Mike)
2015 Jay Flight 32RLDS Elite
2012 Chevy 2500HD Crew Cab LTZ (6.6L Duramax/Allison)
Equalizer Hitch (1200# bars)
Scoutr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 05:32 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Elk City
Posts: 104
You've pretty well got your answer(s), but just note the book says run the risk of burning out the compressor motor, since it's not running at full strength. So I echo those who advise not doing it to excess. Also, don't run other appliances at the same time. Finally, you can have a 30a outlet installed the house, thus ending the issue.
__________________

tdk2765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.