Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2019, 10:10 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
cranca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Deer Park
Posts: 5
Can't Get the Thermostat to Scroll to Heat

Ok so I'm a newb and bought my first travel trailer... Got the Jay Flight SLX 264bh and absolutely love it. The wife, kids and I took it out to the deer lease this last weekend and when it go down to the 40s we were trying to get the heater on. I watched a couple of YouTube videos and it said to scroll to heat... Mine will not scroll from cool to heat... Surely there is something I'm missing here. Can anyone help me out? Thanks in advance
__________________

cranca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 10:35 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
RogerR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Mapleton
Posts: 1,577
Which thermostat do you have? Can you post a picture.



If you have the mechanical one does it have an on/off or on/off/cool switch.



Mine had one at the bottom and was hard to see.



Like a lot of others I swapped it out for an inexpensive electronic one that is much more accurate in keeping temp regulated. And easier to read.
__________________

__________________
2017 SLX 195RB
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland, gas 3.7 V6
Andersen WDH hitch
Dometic Milenco Aero mirrors
RogerR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 12:15 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
cranca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Deer Park
Posts: 5
Click image for larger version

Name:	dometictstat.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	17.1 KB
ID:	54189
cranca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 12:16 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
cranca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Deer Park
Posts: 5
This is the one I have. I watched a youtube video of how to scroll thru and select heat instead of cool but for some reason I wasn't successful lol. Just thought maybe there was something I was missing...
cranca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 12:17 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
AKRUEBBE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Wherever we want to!
Posts: 1,610
Wish I can help but I've not seen that thermostat before.
__________________
AL & JANET KRUEBBE
2019 PINNACLE 37RLWS
2018 NORTH POINT 315RLTS (TRADED)
2017 RAM 3500 DRW DIESEL/AISIN 4.10 AIR BAGS
B&W COMPANION TURN OVER BALL HITCH
Formerly from Sequim, WA
AKRUEBBE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 12:20 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Hollister
Posts: 23
On ours I just hit the mode button.
This will cycle thru the Options.

Once the desired option shows up it will take a few minutes to come on.
mokurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 01:01 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
RichR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Cooperstown, NW PA
Posts: 149
You should have a manual for it in all that pile of papers that came with your trailer.
__________________
2018 Jayco Jay Flight 21QB
2012 F150 Ecoboost Crewcab
Amateur Radio K3EXU
Moderator on Hi-Lo Trailer Forum
RichR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 01:28 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
LuckyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 695
Quote:
Originally Posted by cranca View Post
This is the one I have. I watched a youtube video of how to scroll thru and select heat instead of cool but for some reason I wasn't successful lol. Just thought maybe there was something I was missing...
We have the same. Just a light tap on the Mode button will toggle through the Heat, Cool and Fan modes. It’s not mechanical but touch sensitive — like a cell phone. You have to tap it just right.
__________________
2018 JayFlight SLX 212QBW
1999 Ford F-250 Super Duty Lariat 7.3L PSD, 3.73
Transfer Flow 50 gal aux; Andersen WDH
😁 "If a man says he’ll fix something, he will. There’s no need to remind him every 6 months.
LuckyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 02:02 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Charles Town
Posts: 270
Just very lightly touch the mode button over and over until you see the heat emblem on the bottom. They are very sensitive. And sometimes they will malfunction. The dealer replaced four in a row right out of new boxes before they found one that would work on mine. Again, light touch, they are very sensitive.
__________________
2014 Toyota TundraTRD double cab 4x4 tow package off road package 46 gallon fuel tank
2018 Jayco White Hawk 23MRB solar equipped
Racinforthefinish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 02:31 PM   #10
Member
 
kweinert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Location: Thornton
Posts: 49
Also, at least on ours, once you tap it give a second or two to change.

I can't tell you how many times I've gone past the setting because I expect immediate response and it's *just* slow enough that I tap it too quick. It's not like it takes forever but it's just far enough off of instantaneous (like a keyboard) that it throws me off.
__________________
Ken and Sandi
2019 Jay Feather 27BH
2019 RAM 1500 Classic

2017 Shasta 18FQ (traded in)
2015 Quicksilver 10.0 (sold)


Not all who wander are lost.
kweinert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 03:23 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
cranca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Deer Park
Posts: 5
Thanks for the replies! Thinking I just maybe didn’t wait for it to change.
cranca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 05:20 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Windsor
Posts: 240
Yes, the "touch-sense" thermostat is very touchy, can be very aggravating in my experience. Mine would suddenly go to Celsius and I didn't know why. Finally read the instructions and it says to tap twice to make that happen. I was tapping more than twice just trying to make the d@#$ thing work and change the temperature setting, etc. Lately, it seems to be working fine, however. So I think I may have finally developed the right "touch".
GL243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 07:55 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
LuckyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 695
Not sure about double-tapping, but touching the up and down arrows at the same time will toggle between Fahrenheit and Celsius. Here’s a video that is helpful:
__________________
2018 JayFlight SLX 212QBW
1999 Ford F-250 Super Duty Lariat 7.3L PSD, 3.73
Transfer Flow 50 gal aux; Andersen WDH
😁 "If a man says he’ll fix something, he will. There’s no need to remind him every 6 months.
LuckyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 08:30 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Windsor
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by LuckyDuck View Post
Not sure about double-tapping, but touching the up and down arrows at the same time will toggle between Fahrenheit and Celsius. Here’s a video that is helpful:
You're right, my bad. Thanks for clarifying.
GL243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2019, 08:44 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
LuckyDuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 695
When we bought our TT, the thermo was set on Celsius and I couldn’t figure out how to change it for the life of me. I was resigned to leaving it on that until I found that video. Whew.
__________________
2018 JayFlight SLX 212QBW
1999 Ford F-250 Super Duty Lariat 7.3L PSD, 3.73
Transfer Flow 50 gal aux; Andersen WDH
😁 "If a man says he’ll fix something, he will. There’s no need to remind him every 6 months.
LuckyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2019, 02:35 PM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Lake Martin
Posts: 13
You have the same one I do on my Jayflight 265SLX. I had the same problem and it got worse to the point I could not get the AC or the Heat to turn on! Go ahead and take it to the dealer and get the thermostat replaced under warranty!
Bob Pope is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2019, 02:24 AM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 2
Don't know what year your Jay Flight is, but my 2018 Jay Flight SLX had a bad Dometic thermostat face that would do similar things or would change temps by itself. Talked to Dometic and they said some of the faces (which contained the electronics) had clearance issues that caused the problems. They sent us a new corrected face and problem was solved.
kenc100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 10:01 AM   #18
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 2
I have the same model 264BH and I had issues with the first one. I took it to get it check out and it is working now...

Two things, the screen is very sensitive and it is very easy to skip selection you want or sometime it takes an extra second to respond. Once you are able to select the heat option, as usual make sure your gas is open and the furnace is ready to go as well.

Best of luck!

JO
JerryOrt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2019, 02:01 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 92
I'm sure this is a dumb question, but you are using the main thermostat and not a bedroom unit? My wife tried to get the heater to come on in the bedroom. She kept telling me she couldn't get it to go to heat. I finally explained that, while we have 2 ac units, we only have 1 furnace and it can only be controlled by the main thermostat.
__________________

mbell5263 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×