Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-05-2019, 02:42 PM   #1

Colorado ready?

Thank you for any opinions you may offer on this.

I am pulling a 6300lb Jayco Jayflight 287BHSW. I always pull empty except about 500lbs of gear.

Summer trip is from Texas to Colorado and back. I have about 1500 miles of towing to my name, so I'm still a newbie.

Tow vehicle is an F-150 V8 5L w/ tow package. Max on it is supposedly 9300 lbs. I have a weight distribution hitch w/ sway bars. Still, even a weak side wind will get me white-knuckling.

I put new tires on the Jayco but man, going uphill hurts (45-50mph best case), and that's in flat gentle Texas. Otherwise, towing is okay and I keep it around 55mph.

Is my tow vehicle too weak?
jdksla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 02:56 PM   #2

Approximately a 3% power loss for every 1,000 feet so at 7,000 feet (Denver) you're looking at a 21% power loss before getting into the Rockies. That 45-50mph in the hills in the relatively flat east probably means slow going in the higher elevations in the west.

2018 Jayco 28RLS
2012 F-250 6.2L 3.73
Equalizer Hitch
Yamaha 2400ISHC
2edgesword is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 03:08 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdksla View Post

I am pulling a 6300lb Jayco Jayflight 287BHSW. I always pull empty except about 500lbs of gear.

Summer trip is from Texas to Colorado and back. I have about 1500 miles of towing to my name, so I'm still a newbie.

Tow vehicle is an F-150 V8 5L w/ tow package. Max on it is supposedly 9300 lbs. I have a weight distribution hitch w/ sway bars. Still, even a weak side wind will get me white-knuckling.

I put new tires on the Jayco but man, going uphill hurts (45-50mph best case), and that's in flat gentle Texas. Otherwise, towing is okay and I keep it around 55mph.