Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-16-2016, 04:56 PM   #1

Continuing saga of my water heater

My first weekend out with the new trailer several months ago, the first thing I did as a total newbie was to burn out the electric heating element for the water heater. I figured it wasn't too big a deal since I could still heat with gas, so I'd get around to fixing it in the spring or maybe if I needed to bring the trailer in for warranty work at some point.

Well, I took my daughter and the trailer to Rock Springs Wyoming for a week (got back yesterday). Everything went very well until 2 days ago, when the gas water heater stopped working. So now all we get is cold water.

Today I took a look at it and the igniter is not creating a spark, and even when you light the gas manually, it only stays lit for a few seconds then shuts the gas off. Since the electronic ignition and flame sensor are the same part, I figure that's the problem.

Went to Camping World today to buy a new electric element and a new "spark and sense electrode"... they wanted twice the price of amazon for each part.

I guess their retail store business model must be "gouge-you-when-you-have-no-other-options".

Fortunately, I'm home and not taking out the trailer again until Friday, so Amazon is an option. I placed the order on my phone the moment I left the store.

I guess mostly this post is to vent. But also wondering... why would the electronic ignition fail so soon?

The ceramic does not appear cracked, but there is definitely no spark coming off the thing. Lights up fine when I stick a grill lighter in there and spark it off at the right moment (then shuts itself off from not sensing a flame).

No idea how this part burned out, I don't think it was me, though?

Any tips? Am I doing something wrong?