Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2011, 02:01 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 37
current draw when idle

I am looking to optimize my 12V battery usage, and found that my trailer is drawing 0.2 amps at rest. Doesn't sound like much, but 4.8Ah/day adds up.

I see the Jensen stereo (clock and backlight) is running all the time. i am gonna pull the fuse and see how much that saves.
__________________

__________________
'10 Toyota Tundra Crew Max 5.7
'11 Jayco Jay Flight 28BHS
jpeake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 02:38 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
TexasA&M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ft. Worth, TX
Posts: 388
Most of the draw is probably the smoke and CO detectors...
__________________

TexasA&M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 07:57 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 38
I pull my fuse after each trip......

Happy Memorial Day camping to all.......
__________________
2011 G2 32RLS

2012 F350 diesel
prooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 08:17 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
kipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Eastern Pa
Posts: 173
This year I just put in a battery shut off switch and have not had a problem with the battery going dead anymore . Or you can just pull the inline fuse and save some money .
__________________
Kipper
If everyone is thinking alike, then somebody isn't thinking.
George S. Patton
kipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 10:09 AM   #5
Member
 
Joe Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Reno NV
Posts: 33
Battery tender.....low amps and shuts off when charged.
__________________
03 Yukon Quadsteer, 2500/6.0L
90 Thrush 6 Jayco, Baja wannabe
73 911 Carrera RS, cab 3.6
Joe Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 11:54 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Rancho Murieta, California
Posts: 22
I found that the thermostat has a standby current flow.
I disconnected the battery and it would not work
I found that pulling the fuse and putting it back will reset the thermostat
I had added a 2nd battery and that caused it to not work.
__________________

safari97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.