Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2015, 10:16 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Scoutr2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Bartonville
Posts: 509
My trailer has a 50 amp connection and cord. I believe the sticker above the twist-on connection says I am rated for 50 amp 110V OR 220V. Do I understand that correctly that I can plug into 220V 50 amp, should I ever need to?
__________________

__________________

Scoutr2 (Mike)
2015 Jay Flight 32RLDS Elite
2012 Chevy 2500HD Crew Cab LTZ (6.6L Duramax/Allison)
Equalizer Hitch (1200# bars)
Scoutr2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 10:17 AM   #22
Site Team
 
FPM III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fayette Ridges of PA, USA
Posts: 2,302
Besides what previously posted, I insert, then remove and reinsert the plug several times to help clean any oxide buildup on the connections because you usually don't know whether the outlet was used last night or last year.
__________________

__________________
MODERATOR
Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search

TV: 2009 GMC Sierra 2500HD | Crew Cab | Std. Box | 4WD | Duramax/Allison
RV: 2000 Jayco Eagle 266 | FBS | TT -- 1986 Coleman Laramie pop-up -- Still in the family!!!
FPM III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 10:27 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
tnchuck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sparta, TN
Posts: 1,174
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoutr2 View Post
My trailer has a 50 amp connection and cord. I believe the sticker above the twist-on connection says I am rated for 50 amp 110V OR 220V. Do I understand that correctly that I can plug into 220V 50 amp, should I ever need to?
All 50 amp receptacles at the pedestal are 220V. There are two 110V circuits measured from each hot to neutral. It is 220V measured from hot to hot.
__________________
Chuck - Sparta, TN
2012 Jay Flight 22FB, 2 x Honda EU2000i
2013 GMC Yukon XL Denali AWD

EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print.....
EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
tnchuck100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2015, 08:57 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: NC
Posts: 973
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scoutr2 View Post
My trailer has a 50 amp connection and cord. I believe the sticker above the twist-on connection says I am rated for 50 amp 110V OR 220V. Do I understand that correctly that I can plug into 220V 50 amp, should I ever need to?
There are plenty of old appliance standard 3 wire 50 amp circuits out there. Don't use those. But 4 wire 220/110 50amp is what you need. 2 hots a netural and a ground all matched up from one end to the other and you are good to go.

Anytime I am in doubt I run on 30 amps through an adapter. The only risk in 30 amp 110 circuit is low voltage and I can check that. That is why my 50 to 30 amp adapter plug is my go-to device if I can't/don't trust the 50amp circuit.
__________________

__________________
No man has a good enough memory to be a successful liar. Abraham Lincoln

2016 36FBTS Pinnacle
2016 F350, 6.7, 4x4, DRW, long bed
B & W Companion 5th wheel Hitch
eldermike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.