Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-27-2012, 01:50 PM   #1

Feather 23B Grey Water Tank Questions

I'm a newbie and have tried searching the forums for the questions below and didn't find anything but if I missed something, I apologize in advance.

We have a Jayco 2004 Feather 23B that we have taken out once for four days, and will be taking out for our first week trip.

As seems to be the case with many holding tanks, our sensors seem to be stuck or incorrect on all of our tanks. Fresh water is no problem, I can peer under the trailer and see how that's doing. Black water I can open up the toilet and look in with a flashlight. I've also heard that you can 'clean' the black water sensor by pouring some ice down there before a trip and let it slosh around during the drive.

My question is how to you see and clean the grey tank levels when the sensors aren't working. We keep it pretty light when it comes to usage. We shower in the camp showers and when we wash dishes, we dump the rinse water outside, so I wouldn't think we'd fill up the tank, but I'd rather not have any surprises. On our four day trip we had to add a few gallons of water using a funnel and 5-gallon jug, so I'm guessing I'll have to do the same with a couple of extra days on top (though I may not have filled it all the way, oops)

Is there any access to the grey tank where I could do the 'dumping ice' trick and/or be able to visually see the level? Any other tricks to cleaning the grey sensors? If it does fill, what happens? I'm assuming it would back up into the shower first?

Thanks to all for the help!
sirrealone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 04:37 PM   #2