Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2014, 10:00 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Arefbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Haycock Twp
Posts: 193
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjthies View Post
Hello. Just having 30 amp outlet installed for shore power
OK, that set off alarm bells immediately. Please, please, PLEASE be absolutely certain your electrician knows it is 30 amp 120V. I have read too many horror stories that start out "What is the worst thing that can happen if I hook up to a 220 volt (welder/stove/dryer/newly wired) outlet..." Bad things happen to all the electrical stuff.... all of it!
Beyond that, I make sure the breaker at the box is off but not the inside breaker. Just make sure the water heater breaker is off in case it was left on at the panel.
__________________

Arefbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 10:27 AM   #22
Lost in the Woods
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Woodstock
Posts: 1,128
[QUOTE=Arefbee;239801]
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjthies View Post
Hello. Just having 30 amp outlet installed for shore power /QUOTE]

OK, that set off alarm bells immediately. Please, please, PLEASE be absolutely certain your electrician knows it is 30 amp 120V.

covered and confirmed in posts 2 and 3
__________________

nbhybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 10:31 AM   #23
Senior Member
 
Arefbee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Haycock Twp
Posts: 193
[QUOTE=nbhybrid;239809]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arefbee View Post


covered and confirmed in posts 2 and 3
Need to read slower...

Thx!
Arefbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 11:48 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: VA
Posts: 394
A friendly reminder on the 120 volt issue doesn't hurt anything. Seems it has been quite a few stories of it being wired incorrectly!
__________________
2005 Dodge Ram 1500 Quad Cab 5.7 HEMI
2̶0̶1̶4̶ ̶J̶a̶y̶ ̶F̶e̶a̶t̶h̶e̶r̶ ̶X̶1̶9̶H̶
howie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 11:58 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: South Texas
Posts: 4,190
I had a 50 A installed at my house by an electrician, I made sure that he knew it was for an RV so to wire it correctly. I still tested it before I plugged in.

Typically at the CG, I flip the post breaker off, plug in shore power, then flip post breaker back on. I'm saving up for an EMS to help protect me from potential problems...
__________________


2014 Jay Flight 28 BHBE
2015 RAM 2500 6.4L HEMI, Tradesman 4x4, 3.73
Blue Ox SwayPro (BXW 1503)

Upgraded from an REI internal frame backpack and a Eureka 1/2 dome tent!
Camper_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 03:13 PM   #26
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Lake Tapps
Posts: 18
I'm new to this RV thing so what may seem obvious to most of you sometimes doesn't to me. I have to ask, why don't you have a shore power cord on your trailer already from the factory? Have you just been running a generator all this time?
Diesel wrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 03:19 PM   #27
Lost in the Woods
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Woodstock
Posts: 1,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diesel wrench View Post
I'm new to this RV thing so what may seem obvious to most of you sometimes doesn't to me. I have to ask, why don't you have a shore power cord on your trailer already from the factory? Have you just been running a generator all this time?

this post is about the Op installed an outlet at their house. There are posts about removing the permanent shore cord for a removeable one if that is what you mean

Some come this way standard from the factory
nbhybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 03:20 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
robkelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Duxbury
Posts: 4,515
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camper_bob View Post
Typically at the CG, I flip the post breaker off, plug in shore power, then flip post breaker back on. I'm saving up for an EMS to help protect me from potential problems...
This is what I do too, and I have the EMS...
__________________
Rob & Kelly, Bella & Brady (Miniature Schnauzers)
2018 Pinnacle 36KPTS
2017 RAM 3500 SRW CTD/AISIN CC LB
robkelly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 05:47 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 336
Guess I'm even more cautious than most or everybody else. I turn the breaker off at the CG pole AND inside, plug my EMS in, turn the pole breaker on and wait for the EMS to cycle thru once or twice, then I plug in my power cord, then go in and flip the coach breaker on.
__________________
'08 Greyhawk 31SS
jimp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2014, 09:52 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
thecampingcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ringwood
Posts: 276
Ems cycle on my progressive industries will stop power to rig if something is wrong..so breakers off at pole plug in than breakers back on wait for cycle before running Air conditioning microwave etc
__________________

thecampingcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.