Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 11-21-2016, 06:48 PM   #1

First time post! Newbie and advice please :)

New to the forum, to RV life, and to the community!
Glad to be here, and hopeful that very basic questions will be permitted.
I am interested in a Jayco and we are towing with a 1st generation Sequoia.

I have souped it up with headers, suspension and intake/exhaust however the stated limit is 6500lbs. I am sure that I could tow more however without an upgrade to the 5.7L engine, I would probably want to limit myself to 7k or so.

We have been trying to stay within weight limits and we are interested in the 24MBH White Hawk. Personally I also like the look of the Jayflight 27BHS. I love the layout and it's even cheaper than the 24' White Hawk! That said, the weight is 8250 gross vehicle and I'd be potentially worried about that (again, I have no experience towing, don't understand anything re: hitches yet, etc).

I'd be grateful for your thoughts re: the 24MBH (we like the Murphy Bed layout and it seems to provide a lot more room). We will normally be traveling w/4, but at times will have 6 with us (3 kids, 3 adults). We definitely require bunks. We don't necessarily need the separate bedroom and would rather use the space, hence the Murphy focus). Are there any other Murphy trailers that we have missed? I did see a 23' Jayfeather however for the additional money the White Hawk seemed a lot more feature-rich.

I am truly and extremely grateful for any thoughts you may be able to share during this quest to find our trailer! PS. is there a master-website where I can see inventory of all jayco dealers near a specific geographic point? Many thanks!
bluejay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2016, 07:16 PM   #2

Welcome to the JOF and RV life.