Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 10-18-2012, 09:53 PM   #1

Fitting an 80" queen in a sub 30' Jayco?

Hi all,

Newbie here shopping for our first TT after a year of renting. We are looking for a TT for myself and my wife and our 65lb Greyhound....no kids. I'd like to keep the trailer under 30' hitch to bumper and under 5500 lbs dry. Our 2012 F150 5.0 has a 9200 lb tow rating but only 1420 lb payload, so we want to keep tongue weight below 850 lbs.

We are ideally looking for a model with a dinette, couch, slide, and ideally windows in the rear of the trailer to keep things bright. One model with these features we're considering is the Jay Feather 242.

Now, my issue is that my understanding is that Jayco only equip this size of trailer with 74" long rv queen beds. Being 6'1" and a stomach sleeper, the rv queens aren't comfortable for me. Has anyone put a standard size queen mattress in any of these units? I'm concerned many of the floorplans Jayco offers don't lend themselves to longer beds because of walls in front of the bed. Love to hear your experiences.

Thanks,
Nathan
Old 10-19-2012, 06:18 AM   #2

We just bought a jay flight swift 267 BHS and it has a queen bed with the wall at the bottom. My husband is 6'4 1/2 inches and he fits with out his feet cramped aginst the wall. He an lay straight too, not from corner to corner. We love ours. 26 feet of trailer, 29 feet altogether. Under 6000 lbs and beautiful interior. Whatever you decide to do, good luck.
Leigh and Barb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 06:03 PM   #3

We have the 25z which has an almost identical layout to the 242. I did measure and the standard queen will fit.
It would be tighter on the bath side, but still quite livable.