Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 12-19-2022, 04:45 AM   #1

Freezing in Florida

I’m new to the RV world so try not to laugh too hard.
I bought a clean 2016 Jay Flight 26BHS with the idea of using it as my temporary residence while our home is being built.
I came to Florida twenty years ago from the Illinois/Wisconsin border. I have two 30lb tank propane system and burned through one tank in two days with daytime temps around 60 degrees and nighttime temps around 35 degrees. It is 3am local time and I am nursing the second with an indoor electric space heater. I can’t find any leaks, but also can’t believe I’m using that much propane.
The calculation comes out to 32 hours, but that’s constant use.
Any ideas?
Smoke.Eater42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2022, 06:42 AM   #2
Site Team

I say you have a leak unless your thermostat is set for 90 degrees! Invest in a propane detector from Amazon. It's a great tool that will pay for itself in time. In the meanwhile get some soapy water and brush it on the connectors around the tank. You smell propane if you are used to the smell. Your detector will go off it it's leaking inside. Be careful!

Make sure your outside hatches are closed and secure.

We were in central Fl. last January and it was below freezing for several nights.
Hughes PWD SP-50A, TST TPMS
Gator roll-up bed cover
B&W Turnover ball, Companion Std hitch
Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2022, 06:42 AM   #3

I have a 284BHS, ours has the twin 20 gallon setup.the last time we had it out it was 60 for daytime high and low 40s at night. We didn't even use one full 20 pound tank for the weekend. I would double check for leaks. Is the furnace cycling or running non stop?
Madanna67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2022, 07:43 AM   #4