Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-26-2021, 10:03 AM   #1

Fresh Water Tank

Hi all! I'm a newbie, so please excuse my ignorance. I appreciate your patience.

We purchased a 2010 JayFlight 26BH a few weeks ago and have taken it out twice. After some bonehead struggles, I finally figured out (I think!) that I needed to open the overflow (?) plugs in order to fill up the fresh water tanks without it pressurizing and taking forever to fill. As I was filling it up, I noticed water dripping on the outside at the top of the tank (see photo). The tank wasn't near full, so I don't think it could've been overflowing; instead, I'm wondering if the pipe/hose that leads into the tank is leaking.

So my questions are:
1. Am I filling the water tanks correctly?
2. How do I know if I have a leak in the tank and/or the hose vs. me just doing something wrong?

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
20210525_183307.jpg  
Utah2010Jayco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2021, 11:32 AM   #2

Welcome aboard! The tanks should not pressurize, so I suspect the former owner has modified tank overflow with a valve of some type. This is a common mod, as some campers have an issue with water syphoning out of the tank via the over flow.

From some online images I found, it looks like you have a gravity fill port right above your wheels.

In theory, all you need to do is open the fill port shove the hose in, and turn on the water. I use something like this Camco water tank filler. It fits in the port better, and I can turn the water valve wide open (most of the time), and do other things as the tank fills.

https://www.amazon.com/Camco-Shutoff...32597529&psc=1

Pending on the water pressure it takes 5-10 minutes to fill my tank (38 gallons??).