Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-31-2017, 11:14 AM   #1

Fueling truck with trailer attached

I am new to trailers. I have had motorhome. When traveling I would use a truck stop and pull in either truck to add fuel.

Now with a gas truck and 30 feet trailer attached where do I fill up at a station? Not sure there are gas pumps where the trucks fill up. The front of the stations for cars seem pretty small for a truck and trailer. What all do you guys do?
Bigdomino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2017, 11:26 AM   #2

Mostly just plan your fuel stations. Google Maps Earth View makes it really easy to scope out which stations have a straight pull through, and which are going to make you do some crazy manoeuvres; check it out before you arrive. Pick the ones with the straight through access every time.

Usually (not always) the Flying J/ Pilot stations are pretty good for clearance at the regular pumps, and some will have a suggested trailer lane with better access.

Once you've done a route a couple of times, you'll get your favorites.

If you do get stuck, I've seen folks have to disconnect the TT and reposition the TV to get out of a bind. Knock on wood, it hasn't happened to me (yet)...
bankr63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2017, 11:28 AM   #3

I have a CFN card and fuel there most of the time. I have a diesel rig but they sell gas as well, otherwise I keep my eye open for easy stations and fill up often when in unfamiliar areas.

Always watch the tail end of your rig when swinging out and if you have to you take up as much space as you need.

Truck stops are usually easiest.

Last resort and in twenty years I have only had to do this once was unhook and fill up. Pain in the ass but you do what you have to do.
Old 03-31-2017, 11:37 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by bankr63 View Post