Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2016, 03:32 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Nashville
Posts: 470
Makes sense. I think I'll give that a try sometime when I got nothing better to do. Right now it's about 90 outside so I doubt I could even get the heat to kick on. For now I'll take your word for it cause it seems logical. Thanks.
__________________

Hohenwald48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 04:30 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
SmokerBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PNW
Posts: 2,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustdevil View Post
The control valve for the propane line to the burner has to see constant pressure from the supply tank before it will allow the valve to open, remain open, or continue to supply gas to the burner(s). If not, it likely won't allow the blower to start either. If you turn off the tank outlet valve, pressure eventually bleeds down, and the control valve shuts off. Turn it back on again, with the theoretical short circuit showing a demand to start, and it will start up again. That's why a short circuit will cause this, just as if you had turned on the thermostat and set the temp high enough to turn the system on.
The opening and closing of the gas valve is controlled by voltage from the circuit board, which actuates the solenoid. Whether there's gas pressure or not wouldn't affect the state of the valve. It would be opened or closed depending on the presence of a control voltage. And if the control circuit is working properly, the valve would only open if the fan is running, and the sail switch has been actuated for a specific period of time.

A lack of propane pressure wouldn't "tell" the furnace control circuit anything. The only way the furnace would "know" there was no propane would be a case where the ignitor was actuated, and no heat was sensed by the flame sensor.

And if the flame sensor hasn't proven a flame after the ignition cycle, the control circuit will shut off the gas valve, requiring a reset (off/on) before the furnace is able to operate again.

I still see no way that propane, flowing through an already opened gas valve (which shouldn't be the case in a non-running furnace) could cause the blower to engage and the ignitor to activate.
__________________

__________________
Bill
2011 Dodge Ram 1500 HEMI Quad Cab
2011 Jay Flight 26BH
SmokerBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2016, 04:43 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
ALJO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Sparwood, BC
Posts: 1,329
Send a message via Skype™ to ALJO
Well said SmokerBill. If there's no flame and even if the igniter is working the furnace has to be reset at the thermostat. The Atwood furnace are very safe and simple in operation.
__________________
2014 Ram 1500 CrewCab 4x4 5.7 Hemi 3.92 Rear and Air Lift 1000
2005 Jayco Jay Feather LGT - 29Y GVWR-7000 lbs.
Pro Series 1200 lbs. WDH with Double Sway Bar.
Champion 3100/2800 watt Inverter/Generator-Onboard Solar Power

ALJO 'Forever Young @ Heart' provide on their travels Music Entertainment to Senior Care Homes
ALJO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 02:46 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Dustdevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Orange County
Posts: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokerBill View Post
The opening and closing of the gas valve is controlled by voltage from the circuit board, which actuates the solenoid. Whether there's gas pressure or not wouldn't affect the state of the valve. It would be opened or closed depending on the presence of a control voltage. And if the control circuit is working properly, the valve would only open if the fan is running, and the sail switch has been actuated for a specific period of time.

A lack of propane pressure wouldn't "tell" the furnace control circuit anything. The only way the furnace would "know" there was no propane would be a case where the ignitor was actuated, and no heat was sensed by the flame sensor.

And if the flame sensor hasn't proven a flame after the ignition cycle, the control circuit will shut off the gas valve, requiring a reset (off/on) before the furnace is able to operate again.

I still see no way that propane, flowing through an already opened gas valve (which shouldn't be the case in a non-running furnace) could cause the blower to engage and the ignitor to activate.
OK. I understand all that. So, if that is supposed to work as you just outlined, then how is it possible the blower could start, and burner operate, simply by turning the gas pressure on? Especially if the system requires cycling power before the main gas valve will ever receive a command voltage to open again? Even if it is malfunctioning, this should not be possible unless there is some way the control "knows" there is either a presence or absence of propane.
__________________
2006 Jayco Seneca 34SS
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon Toad
Dustdevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 02:49 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
TWP723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Abingdon
Posts: 3,601
ghosts.
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 328 RLTS
2013 Ford F350 6.7L 4x4 CCLB
W/Air Lift air bags (front & rear)
Equal-I-Zerô WDH
Me, Momma and Charles (RIP buddy)
And introducing Sofie!! ;)
TWP723 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 02:52 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Dustdevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Orange County
Posts: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWP723 View Post
ghosts.
Hahaha!!! Better get an exorcist.
__________________
2006 Jayco Seneca 34SS
2006 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon Toad
Dustdevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2016, 09:21 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
SmokerBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PNW
Posts: 2,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dustdevil View Post
OK. I understand all that. So, if that is supposed to work as you just outlined, then how is it possible the blower could start, and burner operate, simply by turning the gas pressure on? Especially if the system requires cycling power before the main gas valve will ever receive a command voltage to open again? Even if it is malfunctioning, this should not be possible unless there is some way the control "knows" there is either a presence or absence of propane.
I don't know. The OP, rustysheros, has never returned. Maybe he should explain the problem in more detail.
__________________

__________________
Bill
2011 Dodge Ram 1500 HEMI Quad Cab
2011 Jay Flight 26BH
SmokerBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.