Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2015, 06:13 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Charles Town
Posts: 163
Furnace problems

I suppose I will end up really liking my new Jayco Jayflight 23rb, however, it arrived three weeks later than promised to me, missed my planned camping trip entirely. Oh well, things like that happen. I finally got to take it to the mountains camping, it got pretty cold so I needed to use the furnace. It worked for a few hours and then quit.I checked everything I should check and all was well except the furnace wouldn't work anymore. Next day went to the dealers and they worked on it for a few hours and finally said that they found a loose connection, fixed it and said good to go. I took it back home, plugged it in, turned on the furnace, furnace fired right up for about three minutes and then shut off. Back to the dealers the next day, they work several hours on it and finally said this is a brand new type of furnace that just came out and we don't even have parts for it yet. They kept the furnace there and supposedly ordered parts for it. It has been over a week and I haven't heard a word. So, even though it is warm now, let your furnace run on your new units for awhile and check them out good! It was cold on that mountain. I suppose I will end up liking this camper!
__________________

Racinforthefinish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2015, 07:29 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
oldmanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 7,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by Racinforthefinish View Post
snip... let your furnace run on your new units for awhile and check them out good! It was cold on that mountain. snip...
Good advice! Mine ran fine for a couple of minutes during the PDI, but I haven't run it for anything longer than that. It's now on my 'To Do' list before we head out.
__________________

__________________
Sherm & Terry w/rescues Eydie (min Schnauzer) Steve RIP (std Poodle)
2015 Jay Flight 27RLS (Camped: 102 nights '15, 90 nights '16, 70 nights '17 so far)
2006 Ford F350 6.0 PSD, Lariat, 4WD, CC, LB, SRW, auto., Camper pkg.
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2015, 06:19 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Charles Town
Posts: 163
Update on new jayco jayflight 23rb furnace

Quote:
Originally Posted by Racinforthefinish View Post
I suppose I will end up really liking my new Jayco Jayflight 23rb, however, it arrived three weeks later than promised to me, missed my planned camping trip entirely. Oh well, things like that happen. I finally got to take it to the mountains camping, it got pretty cold so I needed to use the furnace. It worked for a few hours and then quit.I checked everything I should check and all was well except the furnace wouldn't work anymore. Next day went to the dealers and they worked on it for a few hours and finally said that they found a loose connection, fixed it and said good to go. I took it back home, plugged it in, turned on the furnace, furnace fired right up for about three minutes and then shut off. Back to the dealers the next day, they work several hours on it and finally said this is a brand new type of furnace that just came out and we don't even have parts for it yet. They kept the furnace there and supposedly ordered parts for it. It has been over a week and I haven't heard a word. So, even though it is warm now, let your furnace run on your new units for awhile and check them out good! It was cold on that mountain. I suppose I will end up liking this camper!
I have been back to Greencastle RV three times to resolve this issue. Yesterday they said it was fixed and they had installed two new switches in this new furnace. I took it it home, plugged it in, furnace ran three seconds and quit again. No, I really don't need heat right now but with only three hours of use on a new unit I think it should be fixed.
The bad part is the air conditioner and the furnace run off the same switch so I don't have air either. Anyone else had this problem? It is the new type Atwood furnace.
__________________
2014 Toyota TundraTRD double cab 4x4 tow package off road package 46 gallon fuel tank
2015 Jayco Jayflight 23rb elite thermal package solar equipped
Racinforthefinish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 05:16 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Hot Sulphur Springs
Posts: 108
What do you mean by "the air conditioner and the furnace run off the same switch"? From my understanding, the only thing the AC and furnace share is the thermostat. AC is 110 volt and furnace is 12 volt. Your AC should run just fine, unless your thermostat is messed up. If so, go buy a new one at Lowe's/Home Depot. Any heat & cool thermostat will work, you just won't be able do hi/low fan settings.
jaycojls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 09:12 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Charles Town
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaycojls View Post
What do you mean by "the air conditioner and the furnace run off the same switch"? From my understanding, the only thing the AC and furnace share is the thermostat. AC is 110 volt and furnace is 12 volt. Your AC should run just fine, unless your thermostat is messed up. If so, go buy a new one at Lowe's/Home Depot. Any heat & cool thermostat will work, you just won't be able do hi/low fan settings.
There is a reset switch on the furnace. When the furnace kicks off it breaks the switch. The thermostat has been replaced twice. Nothing has worked so far in three trips to the dealer.
Racinforthefinish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 09:23 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Hot Sulphur Springs
Posts: 108
How does that switch have anything to do with the air conditioner?
jaycojls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 08:05 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Charles Town
Posts: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaycojls View Post
How does that switch have anything to do with the air conditioner?
All I know is when the furnace shuts off the air conditioner does too. The tech at Keystone RV plugged the propane line and reset it at the furnace then he went back to the thermostat and turned the air on. Again, this is a brand new unit. The tech has spent much time on the phone with Atwood. They recommended two switches which they sent and has not helped. It goes back to them tomorrow for the fourth time. They do a reset in the wiring, I am not sure if it is a true switch. Not good getting only three hours of use from a new unit!
Racinforthefinish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 08:24 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,500
Why would the furnace and the A/C be on at the same time?
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 10:49 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
ecoboosteagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: western
Posts: 112
I had had this exact problem. The furnace powers the thermostat which is required to send the low voltage to tell the ac to come on. It's the same as a central air system at home. if you had no power to your furnace and tried to turn on your ac your condenser outside would not come on. The reason why mine kept tripping was there was too much heat getting into the cabinet where the furnace is. when the service man pulled the furnace out he found an open duct take off that was just taped with foil tape and it had blown open. so it was blowing hot air right into the cabinet. He re-taped it because that's all he had and everything worked great until this past weekend. it was cold and we were running the furnace about 3/4 of the time. sure enough by day 3 it quit. I checked the furnace and the tape blew open again. needless to say they are coming back to screw and tape a piece of sheet metal over the opening. The point is, open up your cabinet where the furnace is and check the air flow. My furnace has 4 take-offs. There was a 5th one that Jayco punched out and did not use so they just taped it. furnace is a 35,000 btu Atwood. these things run hot and being in a tight cabinet does not help either. They do have a thermal sensor as well that is why you will hear the burner cut in and out occasionally when running to prevent it from kicking the limit switch (different switch)
__________________
2015 Eagle 324bhts
tv. 2012 F-150 s/c lariat ecoboost 3.73 max tow
ecoboosteagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2015, 11:16 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Hot Sulphur Springs
Posts: 108
Good to know about the 12v from furnace to t-stat to AC. I will be checking that on mine. Doesn't sound like a good way to wire it. 12v needs to go to both separately if you ask me...
__________________

jaycojls is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.